We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macushla House
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay at the start or end of a safari if you want a quiet and peaceful small character hotel with pool and big comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff (even at 04.30 am when we were served breakfast with a smile) and homely atmosphere. There were lovely fresh flowers in the bedroom which disappeared the following day ... only to be replaced by fresh ones. There's a nice terrace to eat or drink outside when weather permits or an open fire inside when not.

It is in a residential area within safe walking distance of the Giraffe Centre (15-20 minutes) and not far by car to the Elephant Orphanage. The staff will arrange a car for you.

We found it much nicer than any of the bigger hotels in Nairobi as long as you don't want to be near the shops or the town centre. We were very well looked after and could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 6 has direct access to a small courtyard . Rooms 4 and 5 are opposite each other at the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
30
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Don't come here if you want glitz and glamour. Come here if you wnat to meet interesting people who enjoy somehting a bit different, if you want good home style food, if you wnat to be pampered and treated like one of the nice family members. This is one of the most divine places I have ever stayed. Homely, comfortable but still with all the mod cons, a lovely restaurant with great choices, fabulous service, beautiful grounds. Just heavenly.

Room Tip: Quite out of the way but superb location if going to the Giraffe centre or any of the other nearby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aargau
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Macushla house has attractive rooms, either with view to the pool or to the garden. It is situated absolutely quiet in the Karen/Langata area. The place is absolutely safe - no need to lock your room. Food is excellent, great hospitality from the waiters and the management.
It is an excellent opportunity to start a safari, situated rather close to Wilson airport.
Not designed for people who want to go shopping closeby.

Room Tip: rooms at the pool side have a more attractive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Macushla House is definitely my Nairobi home. Situated in Karen, right next door to the Giraffe Manor is Macushla House. Macushla House is just short drive to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and Karen Blixen Museum, and by far the best place to stay if your are visiting either. The food is wonderful, the rooms are perfect and charming, as well as the staff. I can't think of a more special place to land after 26 hours of travel. I will return here again and again, whenever I visit Nairobi.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Macushla House are so charming. My favorite is 3 because of the large open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga tn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent service in beautiful quiet area is the perfect way to begin a a safari. Breakfast was very good. We arrived late and were greeted with offer of food or drink. Enjoyed gin and tonic on the porch after 30 hours of travel-perfect. The location provides a good base for exploring Karen. We enjoyed elephant orphanage, giraffe center, craft market and women's bead factory while there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife, her parents and I recently stayed at Macushla House and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Great rooms, quiet area and excellent service. The breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water although the water pressure wasn't brilliant in the shower. A very relaxing oasis away from the craziness of Nairobi traffic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here as a day room transitting through Nairobi to leave Africa. As mentioned, it's in the nice part of Nairobi.

The room have high ceilings and ours had Dali prints on the walls which made for interesting ambience.

The biggest problem is the shower has no pressure.

The staff were very nice and professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi
Macushla House Hotel
Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macushla House 3.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macushla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Macushla House to your Saves list