We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macushla House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macushla House to your Saves list
Macushla House
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay at the start or end of a safari if you want a quiet and peaceful small character hotel with pool and big comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff (even at 04.30 am when we were served breakfast with a smile) and homely atmosphere. There were lovely fresh flowers in the bedroom which disappeared the following day ... only to be replaced by fresh ones. There's a nice terrace to eat or drink outside when weather permits or an open fire inside when not.

It is in a residential area within safe walking distance of the Giraffe Centre (15-20 minutes) and not far by car to the Elephant Orphanage. The staff will arrange a car for you.

We found it much nicer than any of the bigger hotels in Nairobi as long as you don't want to be near the shops or the town centre. We were very well looked after and could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 6 has direct access to a small courtyard . Rooms 4 and 5 are opposite each other at the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
36
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Don't come here if you want glitz and glamour. Come here if you wnat to meet interesting people who enjoy somehting a bit different, if you want good home style food, if you wnat to be pampered and treated like one of the nice family members. This is one of the most divine places I have ever stayed. Homely, comfortable but still with all the mod cons, a lovely restaurant with great choices, fabulous service, beautiful grounds. Just heavenly.

Room Tip: Quite out of the way but superb location if going to the Giraffe centre or any of the other nearby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aargau
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Macushla house has attractive rooms, either with view to the pool or to the garden. It is situated absolutely quiet in the Karen/Langata area. The place is absolutely safe - no need to lock your room. Food is excellent, great hospitality from the waiters and the management.
It is an excellent opportunity to start a safari, situated rather close to Wilson airport.
Not designed for people who want to go shopping closeby.

Room Tip: rooms at the pool side have a more attractive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Macushla House is definitely my Nairobi home. Situated in Karen, right next door to the Giraffe Manor is Macushla House. Macushla House is just short drive to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and Karen Blixen Museum, and by far the best place to stay if your are visiting either. The food is wonderful, the rooms are perfect and charming, as well as the staff. I can't think of a more special place to land after 26 hours of travel. I will return here again and again, whenever I visit Nairobi.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Macushla House are so charming. My favorite is 3 because of the large open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga tn
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent service in beautiful quiet area is the perfect way to begin a a safari. Breakfast was very good. We arrived late and were greeted with offer of food or drink. Enjoyed gin and tonic on the porch after 30 hours of travel-perfect. The location provides a good base for exploring Karen. We enjoyed elephant orphanage, giraffe center, craft market and women's bead factory while there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife, her parents and I recently stayed at Macushla House and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Great rooms, quiet area and excellent service. The breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water although the water pressure wasn't brilliant in the shower. A very relaxing oasis away from the craziness of Nairobi traffic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here as a day room transitting through Nairobi to leave Africa. As mentioned, it's in the nice part of Nairobi.

The room have high ceilings and ours had Dali prints on the walls which made for interesting ambience.

The biggest problem is the shower has no pressure.

The staff were very nice and professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macushla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macushla House

Address: Koitobos Road | PO Box 42510, Nairobi 42510, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Hotel Class:3 star — Macushla House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Macushla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macushla House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macushla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.