We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Hotel

Sunstar Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunstar Hotel to your Saves list
Sunstar Hotel
Garden Estate Road | along Thika Super Highway, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“memorable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My stay in Kenya was made memorable due to the extra mile of the staff at sun star hotel. starting from the warm welcome, cozy room, friendly waitress, friendly house keeping and marketing staff. I can say that sun star is a great place for both business and pleasure. i especially like the good level of hygene.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

On my landing in Kenya, I was received warmly by the staff of Hotel. The journey was nice to the hotel. My arrival at the hotel is something to remember. I was received well and shown my room. The room is well maintained and the network was okay as I was able to communicate with my family and friends about my arrival. Likewise, the food was good. I liked my stay in the hotel and recommend a visit to the hotel to have a memorable experience. Thanks to the staff for the warm hospitality and promise to visit
again.

Room Tip: Higher floor are good for a better view of the city as they have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We had a conference at this hotel and the staff were warm and all smiles.The facilities are of a five star hotel.The rates are pocket friendly and its location is awesome being near a mall and not too far from the city with ample parking and quiet serene

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are much better and have more light for people who have to work in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carinthia, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Check in here but expect no standards. A part from the housekeeping department and a few individuals, nothing much was impressive. The hotel is really cool and the bar well stocked but no value at all on deliver point. Almost everyday our meals were served minutes and minutes late. The buffet was never on time. Do not bother to ask for management for your problems. After raising a couple of issues, we were sent a lovely front desk supervisor who listen and acted very professionally but the restaurant did not improve even after that. Improve your game.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Do not even think of this hotel. the showers and toilets stink, the bathroom tiles are so slippery and you could fall and break your back, since they were made of cheap-slippery-wall tile, no customer care, rude manager, terrible meals and worst all crooks. I paid the hotel fare and the taxi airport transfer in advance. i was embarrassed at the hotel by the rude reception that i never paid. i was not dropped at the airport and neither was my airport transfer money, which i paid in advance refunded, even after calling the so called General Manager. Rip off and slum type of hotel. Try this hotel at your risk.crooks

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

After a fatigue journey to a 5 day seminar, believe me not, a warm welcome and a cool environment eroded away my exhaustion, my 5 day stay was not just perfect but more perfectly taken care of, this gives me fresh memory of visiting the hotel again and again. Kudos to marketers who occasionally interacted with us, wanting to know how we fared on.

Room Tip: select rooms near rooters, then experience full net
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Customer care right from the gate is excellent the lady at the front office made my day the smile made me feel at home. A welcome drink was given to us right at the lobby...to crown it all the food was awesome and delicious especially the fish fillet...for business trip i would recommend people any time

Room Tip: Room facing the city have a very good view and specious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sunstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Hotel

Address: Garden Estate Road | along Thika Super Highway, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunstar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.