We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True, not a hotel, but suited my needs perfectly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Syokimau Airport Road | Syokimau, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“True, not a hotel, but suited my needs perfectly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've read the reviews below, and true, using 'Hotel' to describe this accomodation is stretching the term a bit as it is a set of apartments in a gated compound down a dark bumpy road. That said, the two staff I met, the driver and the receptionist were lovely and my pickup from the airport was waiting for me when I arrived. I was staying overnight in Nairobi in transit to Rwanda and location was great. Bed was comfortable, got breakfast in bed and dropped off to airport with plenty of time - due to its location close to the airport there was no chance getting snarled up in Nairobi's traffic. Wifi was good, big TV, shower was fine. As a cheap and convenient place to get your head down while your waiting to transit flights its perfect. Not a place to stay for more than an airport overnighter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very difficult to find. Name on gate is the name of the housing block. We booked this place because it was advertised as self-contained, but there was no cooking facilities or kitchen equipment. The rooms were very sparsely decorated and it was on the 5th floor with no elevator. Certainly not worth the price they are charging.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Awful, stayed there twice for 4 nights with my fiancee and never again, only good for 1 night stop over, close to the airport but too far away from everywhere else, falsely advertised on the booking site I used, its in a terrible area, road to it is not complete, its called 5 star gardens and nothing like a hotel, it is apartment building in the middle of a housing estate that is inside a secured compound with electrified fencing all around the 10 foot wall the encloses the housing estate, many of the buildings are derelict that is in the estate. I will always be going to Kenya but never here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Ok, stayed at this place on 6th April, as an overnight stay as we were travelling onto Mombasa the following morning. This place is a block of mainly empty apartments. Ones that are occupied are rented by local people. There are no signs anywhere to or on the building that say 'Nairobi Airport Hotel.' Passengers making their own way there would never find it!! I will not use the word 'HOTEL' again when discussing this place. The road leading to the apartment block is off road and incomplete. It was very late when we landed in Nairobi which meant the place was dark. The road used to access the apartment block is a very long back road with no lights and very large holes in the road, which meant more time was spent swerving left and right rather than going in a straight line. Due to the road being so bad speed had to be kept to a minimum which felt like a perfect set up to be robbed and dumped at the side of the road, but the 'airport transfer' was genuine. The apartments sits within a gated guarded community with electric fencing on top of a very high wall!

The apartment was clean and room was quite well presented and bed was comfy. The apartment was ok for an overnight stay. Even though it is an apartment and it has a kitchen there are no appliances in the kitchen except a fridge and a kettle. Hot water you have to turn on yourself if you want hot water for the morning (was not told this but worked it out). Towels are provided, but take your own toiletries, hand soap is provided, but that's it. Be sure to check all the windows as most were either slighlty open or closed but not locked. Access to your apartment can be gained through your window by the balcony. The apartment is in a great location for easy return to the airport.

Breakfast is provided. Your order taken by staff who utalise another apartment as a reception. Your breakfast will be brought to your room at a time you request. Breakfast was ok and came in the form of tea/coffee, toast, eggs, sausage etc. Upon check out $13.50 US dollars is required to be payed as local tax, for some reason they are unable to include this cost in the original costing.

Airport transfer is a man with a saloon car. We had 3 suitcases not including hand luggage and may I say it was a squeeze to fit the luggage in. If there was an extra case then I am unsure how we would had proceeded. The driver was very nicee and welcoming. Clearly this service is a man who ownes a car and not a business that provides an official service for the apartment. As the service is a one man and one car outfit we had to wait an hour outside the airport for him to arrive, as he was dropping off another passenger elsewhere despite knowing what flight/time we landed!

Despite all the negatives the place was clean and staff were polite and kind. This apartment room was booked through Expedia and I will be writing to them to request they don't advertise the apartment as a 'Hotel,' price wise £60 for the night I thought was a reasonable price to pay.

Tips go a long way in Nairobi anything between 200 - 300 Shillings seem to be the average.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We arrived on a midnight flight and hired a taxi who called the hotel to get directions. The road to the hotel is unimproved without street lights along a very questionable edge of town. The driver had to stop twice to verify this was the right road. There were no signs at the gate because the inn is operated within a large new complex of 5 story apts. The gate gaurd led us to the back units, still no signage. No one driving their own car would find this place. The helped us carry our luggage to the first floor and offered to make us a dinner and were very accommodating to our needs once we were there. The units are clean and well lit with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathroom, a kitchen and living area. This should not be called a hotel and does not fit the standards of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at these 5 star apartments and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our apartments kitchen hadn't yet been fitted so they were happy for us to use their kitchen downstairs, and they provided a lovely breakfast (even when we had to get up at 2am one morning to get our flight!).
Very reasonable price and safe location with secure parking.
Very close to the International Airport and Nairobi National park which really is a bonus because it takes a long time to get anywhere in Nairobi because of the bad traffic!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I deceided to test out Nairobi Airport Hotel for my recent stay in Nairobi. I arrived early in the morning from a very long and tiring flight and found the free airport shuttle service offered by the hotel very useful.

The hotel itself is in a residential area and is best suitable for shorter stays in connection with the airport. However it is close to the railway station that brings you into town for a few USD. Breakfast was brought to the apartment, and so was the dinner I ordered,

The apartment was nicely furnished and had a flat screen tv with several channels and free and fast internet. It also had a small kitchen so it is possible to make food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Airport Hotel

Address: Syokimau Airport Road | Syokimau, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Airport Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet, upmarket residential area just 10 minutes away from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Nairobi Airport Hotel offers the comforts of home in brand new, exquisitely finished two-bedroom apartments. Skip the jams of Nairobi, and feel at home less than 30 minutes after your plane touches the ground! Breakfast and free airport transfer is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Nairobi Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.