We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treehouses in the outskirts of Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngong House
Save Saved
You added Ngong House to your Saves list
Ngong Rd | P.O. Box 24963, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Treehouses in the outskirts of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We loved the tree house where everything was made from natural materials. Not one straight wall or door and that's the charm if it. The views from inside are just great.
The food was very nice and we enjoyed it in the cosy atmosphere of the fireplace ( one in every corner!). A very nice outing just outside Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

the welcome is great and warm! Amazing tree houses fully equipped . stayed there more than 6 times and every time was a diff experience. Paul the owner really friendly and social. gets everyone together in the evening around the bonfire optional of course. the food is out of this world simply OUT OF THIS WORLD!! complements to the chef.!!! just don't realize you are in Nairobi. fantastic place very recommended.

Room Tip: tree house no. 3 one of my personal favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our 2 nights end to our honeymoon . It's an adventure is the best way to describe it .
We arrived there in the afternoon out room ready we had a treehouse and it really is a two story house in a tree with a veranda it's got a fully functioning bathroom with shower and a kitchenette .. Truly fantastic idea and amazing views .. However if ur not very mobile then stick to a cottage style or a one level tree house as u have to go up a winding staircase and up a hatch to get Into the big treehouse but worth it u even have a thatched cottage roof . They took our very heavy suitcases up to our treehouse and then asked us what we would like for lunch and to choose when .. Now that is good service . Lunch was lovely and plentiful .. Any drink u want is part of ur all inclusive too alcohol or non alcoholic . Staff are lovely and helpful .. We then went in a game drive driver supplied by them and on our return we had drinks and snacks around a fire outside with the owner Paul and the other guests in the evening Under the stars which if u like star gazing feast ur eyes as no light pollution especially from our tree house it was amazing .. Then after the socializing by the fire when u wanted dinner at ur own timing staff would prepare ur table ... As
We were on honeymoon we had a private table adjacent a real burning fire very romantic ... Good was wonderful staff too .
We had drinks inside the lounge just like being at home afterwards and then one of the resident doggies actually walked us all the way to our treehouse very cute . We then settled into our turned down bed and had a great night sleep ready to travel after breakfast which was at our own time if choosing with no rush to check out till we had to go to the airport that's how accommodating they were . We were sad to leave but highly recommend you to visit here even just for one night it's well worth the experience ... Enjoy it and thank you so much Ngong house for making the last night of our honeymoon such a lovely memorable experience ..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I planned this as a surprise for my husband and I too was very impressed. The booking was smooth they are very efficient with their reservations.
Check in was smooth with a very helpful Mary.
Our tree house exceeded our expectations. It was clean with a nice set up of a lounge and a bed upstairs.
Their all inclusive is a real deal. The meals from the bitings, starters, main meal and deserts were totally on point. The breakfast in the garden was quite romantic and relaxing. The waiters went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The owner too was friendly and ensured we were taken care of.
We are definitely going back for a second and third visit.

Room Tip: Pick a tree house, the view is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Ngong House went way beyond my high expectations in every way. The owner and the staff could not have possibly been more gracious, helpful and available. They made me feel truly at my own home yet I had as much privacy as I desired. I had a fabulous massage on my treehouse veranda every day. Every meal was great and incredibly thought of and prepared. A chauffeured car is dedicated for the entire stay to the guest party and is driven by the same driver, which really makes you feel safe and at home. The treehouse was not just a room, but truly a house, and a gorgeous one. Every small details it thoroughly thought of. It's a true labor of love. Treat yourself ...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah,WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It's not easy to find, or quick to get to, especially in Friday afternoon Nairobi traffic. It took us over two hours to travel from Wilson Airport after a short flight from Kilimanjaro. The next day (Saturday), on the way to Jomo Kenyatta, we passed Wilson after only 20 minutes. In the Karen Hills north of Nairobi city, an upmarket section of properties, Ngong House is the handiwork of Paul, formerly part of the Belgian Diplomatic Mission. He has constructed a number of standalone wooden cottages in different styles. Ours was very comfortable, with a quirky bathtub made from an old canoe. It looked really interesting to use, but the water flow meant it would have taken an hour to fill, so I opted for the handmade shower with circular glass-tile wall to the outside, which worked a lot better.
The bed was very comfortable and the room contained fridge, safe, table, chairs etc. The verandah overlooked a stretch of lawn and all cottages are a discreet distance from each other, ensuring privacy. Probably the best part of this establishment is the food and service. After drinks by the outdoor fire near the main building, Paul led us over to a larger cottage, modelled on the log cabins of the US, where we were treated to a magnificent four course dinner in privacy with a central room fireplace. Breakfast the following morning was at a table set up in the middle of the main lawn, and again was delicious. There was only one other couple in residence the night we stayed and they ate in their room. A party of six that was supposed to arrive either got lost or gave up in the traffic and stayed somewhere else, so i am not sure where we would have eaten dinner if the place was full.

Room Tip: The log cabin where we ate dinner (oibviously not occupied at the time) is particularly spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent our first night in Kenya here and it was sensational! Just an ideal way to ease into an African adventure, with a rustic but elegant fit out to our treehouse, and an excellent fireside meal. Although its a trek to get from the international airport to this part of Nairobi, its worth it, and if you are heading to the Maasai Mara from here you are close to Wilson Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngong House

Address: Ngong Rd | P.O. Box 24963, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngong House is a private, serene and luxurious homestay 20 minutes away from the city centre. The lodge overlooks the Ngong Hills, only a few minutes away from what used to be Karen Blixen Coffee Farm. Secluded in 10 acres of private land, it is very close to Nairobi National Park, 40 minutes away from Nairobi International Airport and 15 minutes away from Wilson Airport, from where all air safaris take off. Accommodation is mainly in luxurious Tree-Houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngong House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.