We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngong House
Ngong Rd | P.O. Box 24963, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tucked away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Some things or places are quite simiply worth the wait. True that in traffic and with construction getting there during rush hours will be a challenge, but then you do and a whole new world comes to life as Paul and his staff awaken a spirit of Africa past as they welcome you "home". Uniquely appointed and individually designed each of the accommodations are very well appointed and very comfortable with the cabin being extra special. Paul has designed and built each unit with care and love. The artwork around the place is special as is Penny's jewelery. Lunch in the garden under a shaddy tree with Paul and Penny's two lovable Rhrodesian Ridgebacks sitting at the base of our table was magical. Thanks you two (dogs) for looking after us (all guest) every step of the way. Then there's the staff each of who are expert at what they do. The food is incredible as are the views of the Ngong Hills afte which Paul named this place. We walked to the Girrafe House, shopped at the local stores, visited the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and the Karen Blixen Museum. All of these are in the Karen District as it the entrance to the Nairobi National Park. To say Ngong House is perfectly situated would be an understatement. Thank you Paul and to your entire staff for making our stay uniquely special. We hope to see you again sometime down the road and won't soon forget our stay with you. Best wishes - Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: All excellent with the cabin being exceptional but reserved for families. Ask you may get lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We made the mistake of staying here when we had a late evening arrival, it was already dark, and an early morning departure from Jomo Kenyatta airport. The problem is that the hotel is too far from the airport; the traffic is too congested with all the construction activity taking place; and, the airport is basically chaotic.

Having said all that given more time we might have appreciated all that the hotel had to offer. The room we had was very and certainly different, one might say a bit quaint. It was supposed to represent a boat and we did survive without seasickness.

I guess we were too tired to be able to make objective judgements about the food, although the sundowner session around a fire was enjoyable with an eclectic crowd of people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadingLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Ngong House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time for your review.

We know that the current construction on the main road to Ngong House is creating terrible delays.
The construction however is supposed to be finished soon, and when it is done the drive between us and the International Jomo Kenyatta airport will be much smoother.
Ngong house is also ideally located near the national Wilson Airport from where most of our guests leave on their safari within Kenya.

The design of our Tree Houses is specifically chosen to create a safari feel within city.
Most of our guests appreciate that this brings them immediately in holiday mood upon arrival in Nairobi, instead of spending their first night in a city hotel.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the future, maybe for a longer stay, so you have time to discover and visit the great activities in close proximity of the Ngong House, like the Giraffe Sanctuary ( within walking distance ) and the Karen Blixen Museum at only 4km from us.

Kindest Regards, The Ngong House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Secluded and peaceful, yet a short drive away from everything. The rooms [houses] are beautiful with carefully selected details. We spent three days there and loved every minute. For me, I keep on coming back, one can never have enough of Ngong house

Room Tip: Room 6 has amazing décor and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadingLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Ngong House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it when guests take the time to write about their experience with us.
We look forward to welcome you back with us at Ngong House in the future.
Kindest Regards, The Ngong House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is very special, equally wonderful for tourists arriving or departing nairobi, jaded nairobians and business folk. Tree houses and log cabin are spectacular, very carefully and thoughtfully decorated. Paul, the owner, has a pretty special eye for detail. You will normally be seated for your meal in a special place, with beautiful flower and idiosyncratic decoration. It is nicely located, really in the bush, close to nairobi national park, giraffe house etc.

One thing that stood out - the staff are very professional and proactively anticipate needs, without supervision. Far above the average of luxury accommodation in kenya.

Two downsides. 1) Not good for commuting to work in the centre. 2) mattresses were far too soft for me, but maybe good for others.

Overall, a real pleasure, and best place I've stayed in nairobi, if not in kenya.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadingLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Ngong House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you very much for your review!
We truly appreciate it when guests take the time to write about their stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back with us at Ngong House in the future.
If you then find the mattress to soft again, just inform us and we will gladly try to accommodate you with a harder one.

Kindest Regards, The Ngong House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Ngong House for two nights at the end of our incredible 7 day safari. We had orginally booked The Giraffe Manor but they proved totally inflexible so our travel agent recommended Ngong House - and we are so glad they did. Ngong House is unique, quirky and wonderfully romantic. Our treehouse was beautifully decorated, relaxing and a great place to unwind. The staff were very friendly and helpful and Paul was a fun and very welcoming host. Whilst we had a wonderful time at our two safari camps with the communal dining, it was actually really nice to have a drink round the fire at Ngong House with other guests and Paul but then dine on our own. The table settings changed daily and were always romantically set out, making it very special. Food was fabulous and our best memory was asking the chef if he would cook us some traditional Kenyan food, which proved to be the best meal of our holiday. This was the perfect way to end our amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I loved Ngong House so much that I keep wishing I could live there! I knew this place would be a gem, but it far surpassed any of our expectations. My husband, friends, and I only stay one night, and we were definitely not ready to leave. The accommodations are so unique and so well designed. Absolute one of a kind luxury. The food was tremendous, and our evening meal was one of the most special dinners any of us have ever experienced. I loved the personal touch of sitting around the fire with Paul, the hotel owner, before dinner. We also met his wife who is the fabulous Penny White designer, and we enjoyed shopping in our boutique located on the grounds. The Karen community is a great place to stay when passing through Nairobi because of its ideal location near Karen Blixen museum, Giraffe Center, and David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, and so much more. Even if you only have one night in Nairobi, this is definitely the place you need to book for a very romantic, unique experience.

Room Tip: Each treehouse is unique and wonderful! Some have incredible boat shaped bath tubs that I highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The private dining we had was most memorable - held in the cottage room, with a lovely fire, and an incredible thunderstorm overhead. The food was creative and upscale....The hospitality was wonderful, and we enjoyed the company of the two dogs. We only had about 20 hours to stay in this lovely place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngong House

Also Known As:
Ngong House Hotel Nairobi
Ngong House Hotel
Address: Ngong Rd | P.O. Box 24963, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngong House is a private, serene and luxurious homestay 20 minutes away from the city centre. The lodge overlooks the Ngong Hills, only a few minutes away from what used to be Karen Blixen Coffee Farm. Secluded in 10 acres of private land, it is very close to Nairobi National Park, 40 minutes away from Nairobi International Airport and 15 minutes away from Wilson Airport, from where all air safaris take off. Accommodation is mainly in luxurious Tree-Houses. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ngong House to your Saves list