We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to everything promised.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngong House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngong House
Save
You added Ngong House to your Saves list
Ngong Rd | P.O. Box 24963, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Lives up to everything promised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This place is very special, equally wonderful for tourists arriving or departing nairobi, jaded nairobians and business folk. Tree houses and log cabin are spectacular, very carefully and thoughtfully decorated. Paul, the owner, has a pretty special eye for detail. You will normally be seated for your meal in a special place, with beautiful flower and idiosyncratic decoration. It is nicely located, really in the bush, close to nairobi national park, giraffe house etc.

One thing that stood out - the staff are very professional and proactively anticipate needs, without supervision. Far above the average of luxury accommodation in kenya.

Two downsides. 1) Not good for commuting to work in the centre. 2) mattresses were far too soft for me, but maybe good for others.

Overall, a real pleasure, and best place I've stayed in nairobi, if not in kenya.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadingLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Ngong House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you very much for your review!
We truly appreciate it when guests take the time to write about their stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back with us at Ngong House in the future.
If you then find the mattress to soft again, just inform us and we will gladly try to accommodate you with a harder one.

Kindest Regards, The Ngong House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
43
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Ngong House for two nights at the end of our incredible 7 day safari. We had orginally booked The Giraffe Manor but they proved totally inflexible so our travel agent recommended Ngong House - and we are so glad they did. Ngong House is unique, quirky and wonderfully romantic. Our treehouse was beautifully decorated, relaxing and a great place to unwind. The staff were very friendly and helpful and Paul was a fun and very welcoming host. Whilst we had a wonderful time at our two safari camps with the communal dining, it was actually really nice to have a drink round the fire at Ngong House with other guests and Paul but then dine on our own. The table settings changed daily and were always romantically set out, making it very special. Food was fabulous and our best memory was asking the chef if he would cook us some traditional Kenyan food, which proved to be the best meal of our holiday. This was the perfect way to end our amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I loved Ngong House so much that I keep wishing I could live there! I knew this place would be a gem, but it far surpassed any of our expectations. My husband, friends, and I only stay one night, and we were definitely not ready to leave. The accommodations are so unique and so well designed. Absolute one of a kind luxury. The food was tremendous, and our evening meal was one of the most special dinners any of us have ever experienced. I loved the personal touch of sitting around the fire with Paul, the hotel owner, before dinner. We also met his wife who is the fabulous Penny White designer, and we enjoyed shopping in our boutique located on the grounds. The Karen community is a great place to stay when passing through Nairobi because of its ideal location near Karen Blixen museum, Giraffe Center, and David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, and so much more. Even if you only have one night in Nairobi, this is definitely the place you need to book for a very romantic, unique experience.

Room Tip: Each treehouse is unique and wonderful! Some have incredible boat shaped bath tubs that I highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The private dining we had was most memorable - held in the cottage room, with a lovely fire, and an incredible thunderstorm overhead. The food was creative and upscale....The hospitality was wonderful, and we enjoyed the company of the two dogs. We only had about 20 hours to stay in this lovely place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late from our flight. They were waiting for us, waited on us o unwind with drink and dinner which was quite good. The next day we had lunch in the garden. Cocktail hour was getting acquainted with a diverse guests who were in the city for a variety of reasons, business, NGO's, tourism. Our host, a Belgian retired from the diplomatic service, visited over an open campfire outside and then organized our dinner groups so that we enjoyed an interesting conversation, with wonderful food. A more relaxing place, particularly in busy Nairobi, you will not find. The rooms were interesting and comfortable. If I had to find something lacking, I'd have to try. It's the kind of place you think about after you've been there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Owner Paul has created a wonderful peaceful retreat from the Nairobi hurly-burly, with its romantic and luxurious tree houses, all different and widely separated for total privacy. The lodge is set in 10 acres of private land in the Karen suburb of Nairobi, near what used to be Karen "Out of Africa" Blixen's coffee farm and Nairobi National Park.

We stayed on two separate occasions, first on arrival in Kenya and then again before departure. Both tree houses had large wooden boat-baths and the second had a boat-shaped bed as well, complete with porthole lights! Rooms are spacious, with sitting space inside as well as an outside deck. There is wireless internet throughout, free of charge, though the signal can be erratic. There is also a small swimming pool.

As the weather was fine, the excellent breakfast (with very good coffee) was served in the pretty garden. Dinner is served in or around the main house, next to log fires when the weather is cool. The food is well cooked, copious and beautifully presented. Mary, the manager, was charming and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

A taxi to/from the international airport takes about 40 minutes, depending on traffic. To Wilson airport (for domestic flights), it takes about 15 minutes and to the city centre about 20 minutes. Ngong House has its own transport but will call a commercial taxi, which is normally cheaper. Good places to go locally, apart from Karen Blixen's house, are the elephant orphanage set up by Daphne Sheldrick and the Giraffe Centre, where you can feed endangered Rothschild giraffes.

One point to note: Ngong House does not take credit cards (we ended up paying by bank transfer after our stay).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you want to stay in the Karen area (a suburb southwest of the city centre with much to recommend it), this is the one place to choose for unique accommodation and superb service. Each of the handful of rooms is different, many built into the trees themselves. The location is so private that it’s actually hard to find the facility, so be sure to get good directions before you arrive. Once you are there, it’s as if you’ve left the city completely, with gorgeous views and a peaceful atmosphere.

The owner, Paul, goes out of his way to meet your every need. I wanted breakfast every morning at 4:30 am for the week I stayed there. No problem. The food (sets menu but negotiable) is excellent. And if you have a car, some of Nairobi’s best restaurants are just a few minutes away when you want a change of pace. Service is attentive but unobtrusive. I normally need to stay closer to Nairobi’s centre, but I am already looking for an excuse to return to Ngong House on a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeadingLodges, Public Relations Manager at Ngong House, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Phil, Thank you so much for you review.
We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to leave their thoughts on Ngong House here on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon at with us.
Kind Regards from Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngong House

Address: Ngong Rd | P.O. Box 24963, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngong House is a private, serene and luxurious homestay 20 minutes away from the city centre. The lodge overlooks the Ngong Hills, only a few minutes away from what used to be Karen Blixen Coffee Farm. Secluded in 10 acres of private land, it is very close to Nairobi National Park, 40 minutes away from Nairobi International Airport and 15 minutes away from Wilson Airport, from where all air safaris take off. Accommodation is mainly in luxurious Tree-Houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngong House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.