We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Palanka” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Palanka Nairobi

La Palanka Nairobi
909 James Gichuru Road | Lavington, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 737 444440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 321 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A unique fine African cuisine restaurant in Nairobi.Offering a fusion of exotic flavors from across Africa.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Le Palanka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not quite what i expected of West African food. Too modernised and lack of true african flavours. Too basic

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The ambiance was really good, both indoors and outside as the sunday afternoon sun was regulated by the trees around. The food was really great too, I especially liked the beef rougail (I think from West Africa or Madagascar. I hope I got the name right). A bit disappointing that the chicken wings were not available at the time. An otherwise great experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome. A must try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Awesome restaurant...I loved the different themes incorporated..and especially loved the food and service. The overall atmosphere was very relaxing, it made me enjoy my stay in kenya even more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“One of a kind, an amazing experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a wonderful time with my friends. From the hostess to the look of the place. The night lights really brought it out, the private rooms all combined to give it a good feel for me and my friends. We had some exotic food, good tasting coz i had been told what i would like by people who had visited the establishment before and the food did not disappoint. I visited the place again during a function that was organised there, again i emphasize the lighting oh my amazing. My two cents, visit and see for yourself. Do not forget the beauties that welcome you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A chance for Nairobians to experience real West African food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Le Palanka is owned by a Senagalese(we were informed) who has given his Kenyan chef the chance to develop a range of West Afican dishes with authenticity. The subtitle blend of chicken, fish and spices is impressive and most enjoyable. There is also Kenyan fare.
We were a party of four and chose a variety of dishes from the menu. These gave us a chance to taste what each other had chosen and left us with the opinion that a return visit will be necessary!
The restaurant is set back from the main road and has plenty of parking space. The ambience is modern and there are rooms for private parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palanka Nairobi also viewed

 

Been to La Palanka Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palanka Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.