We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and unforgetable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Nations Visitor's Service

United Nations Visitor's Service
Gigiri, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
+254 20 7622043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 105 Activities in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The United Nations Office at Nairobi (UNON) located in the leafy suburb of Gigiri, Nairobi, is one of the four United Nations Headquarters and the only one in Africa and the Global South. The United Nations Visitors’ Service was established on 9 January 2012, following General Assembly’s resolutions, which requested the Secretary-General to organize a guided tour operation at UNON.The Visitors’ Service’s main goal is to inform visitors about the work of the United Nations and its agencies by opening up the United Nations Complex to the public.We hope visitors will return home with a positive impression of the United Nations and its work in building peace and sustainable development.The Visitors’ Service provides guided tours to tourists, delegates, schools, colleges and universities as well as the general public. Children 5 years old and above are especially welcome.Days and Hours of Operation: Tuesdays to Thursdays: 9:00 am to 2:00 pm.Reservations: Minimum of 5 people per group.Briefing Programmes: Special briefing programmes for groups could be arranged according to their areas of interest. Groups are briefed by members of the UN Speakers Bureau-Nairobi.Languages: Tours are conducted in English, and are available in French, German and Swahili upon request.What to See on the ToursBeautiful, lush, green landscape property unique among UN offices to UNON, populated with an amazing variety of plant and animal species;The UN Conference facilities and the "Green Building,” the UN’s greenest building in Africa;A Memorial Garden in honour of the victims of the 1998 US Embassy bombings in Dar-es-Salaam and Nairobi;Special trees planted by representatives of Security Council Members in 2004, dignitaries, royalty and celebrities.Dozens of gifts and artworks presented to the United Nations by Member States, including paintings, sculptures and murals.Gigiri Nature Trail to view birds and different indigenous trees and plants (optional for an additional fee).
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful and unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

the visit to the UN headquarters was very educative and informative. the gates are now open to everyone who wishes to visit. the environment is beautiful and peaceful. Devina our guide was so friendly and took us round the premise. she also taught us the roles of UN, functions, member states amongst others. each monument at the UN has a message to bring to the people. the skeleton of the index finger tells us to be warned and i found it the most important monument.The UN's main role is to promote peace around the world. one should take a visit and learn more about the UN and learn to make the world a better place.one should carry with him/her comfortable shoes for easy walking.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I moved to Nairobi a couple months ago and had driven by the UN campus a couple of time and was curious as to what actually happened there. I went to their website and was pleasantly surprised that they offered tours.

I booked the tour via email as directed through the website. The correspondence in the email was professional, friendly and timely. I felt confident going into my tour that it was going to be a good experience.

I arrived for my tour a bit late and the security line was a bit long because they were hosting an event that particular day. Checking in with security was easy, they had my name on a list.

Our tour guide was Winnie, she was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was just myself and one other person on the tour, so we had plenty of time to ask questions and take pictures. I walked away with a better understanding of the UN's mission and different departments. The tour took about 2 hours and is well worth the 1,500 shillings I paid as an American.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit to UN Nairobi headquarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

A visit to this pristine and peaceful environment is both an eye opener as well as interesting. You get a chance to know the contribution of your country and other nations to the global well being of society.
Walking around the compound is breath-taking and educative, and at the end you can relax for a meal or drink at the restaurant. A chance that no one should miss.

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I had low expectations, but the visitor tour of the UN in Nairobi was outstanding. Afterwards we enjoyed a reasonably priced lunch in the UN cafeteria. The grounds are wonderful. I see where some of my taxpayer monies are going. Make sure you bring your passport!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

interesting history that I was not aware of. UNON Complex is really a global complex, the work they do is commendable. when you are out there you have no idea what is inside exept to see the place as ' out of Bound'

only improve on visitor accommodation in terms of parking.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United Nations Visitor's Service also viewed

 

Been to United Nations Visitor's Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Nations Visitor's Service, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.