We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cake City

Cake City
P.O.Box 66969, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+(254)732444111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert
Restaurant details
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

we heard great things about cake city, so when we found ourselves in sarit centre, we decided to try it out. the cake slices are small, they have many flavors available. cannot remember what flavors we choose but the cakes were okay, nothing exceptional about them. Tried the Thika Rd mall branch and my cake was dry, very disappointed. I give them A+ for effort, having a wide variety and all but that is as far as i go.

My sister sampled a birthday cake from cake city and she loved it. so maybe the ready made cakes and the order cakes are different. when it comes to cakes, home made beats bakery cakes especially in Nairobi.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

37% Recommend
    4
    0
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

nothing special about the cakes, not tasty or sweet, mediocre. the black forest cake, don't even try it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“O Dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am completely bamboozled by the positive feedback? I went there twice, tried their cakes.. I found their presentation extremely impressive, could not wait to sample the large variety of numerous deserts they have to offer, only to find the cakes almost tasteless.

The actual cake is extremely light and fluffy, which is not how a good cake should be, but more solid yet moist. I gave them another go, but was hugely disappointed.
My brother passed by to communicate my disappoint as he purchased a cake, only to find the manager not bothered as "nobody else is complaining".

It seems the majority of Kenyans have not compared them to cakes from Art Cafe and Java, if they did, i doubt they would ever return....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply Orgasmic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My friends organized a surprise bday cake from this place for me in January all I can say is the cake was tooooooooooooo good :) every month since I think I have been buying a cake or 2 from them...I loved the Black Forest cake, recently I tried the chocolate chip cake and it was nothing except amazing

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Awesome Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Cake city has the best staff, And The cakes are the best i have tasted it's like a world of cakes and everything.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake City also viewed

 

Been to Cake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.