We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a while” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Hill, Off Matumbato Road | Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stayed for a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This is a great hotel. They were working on the road to it but it is new. The rooms are nice, and beds are comfortable. Staff is friendly and have a nice bar. Food was phenomenal and breakfast included with the price.

They gave advice on the town... will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi H, ICT Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MJM676

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Our staff are highly motivated and always driven by the need to keep our clients comfortable and enjoy the value of their money.

You are always welcome to our hotel ay time.

With Kind Regards,


IT support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Nyanza, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The hotel is okay but is lacking in the details. Bathroom layout is weird, construction and repairs have been done shoddily, the mosquito nets aren't designed correctly and have a big gap at the top, there's no chairs to go with the desks, the food is mediocre and expensive, the window didn't lock, the shower was barely warm enough, etc. The neighborhood is quiet though and the Internet works so it's not all bad. However, personally I would pay the extra $50 and stay at the Sarova Stanley next time.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUH_Management, Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew H,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Although it is difficult to compare Nairobi Upperhillhotel with the Campsite that you recommended as great, we trust that your review was genuine and not driven by any other motive. As such we shall look into issues you highlighted.

With Kind Regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stayed here overnight on my last night ib Nairobi. Slept very well. The hotel is vety peaceful. The staff went an extra mile to ensure my stay was comfortable and even provided me with a room to freshen up after checkibg out ad I was only flying at night. I would definately stay here again. The only thing that the hotel must unvest in is good signage from afar as I battled to find the hotel with all the never ending upper hill construction going on. A good signage with direction arrows would be perfect.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUH_Management, Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Thule N,

Thank you for your most extensive review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to receive your comprehensive remarks on our hotel and facilities.

Thank you for taking time to recognize our outstanding services. At Nairobi Upperhill Hotel, we strive to meet and exceed guest expectations. However, our dedicated team is working out to ensure that the signage is well and strategically placed.

We look forward to welcoming you back severally in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Hated it. The location is terrible, showers impossible. My basin only had scolding hot water. It's new but really feels unfinished. Restaurant isn't too bad. No fridge or kettle in bedrooms which should be standard for a business hotel. Much better hotels around Nairobi. Avoid this I am afraid.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUH_Management, Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Dean,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Nairobi upperhill hotel is located in the serene and quiet corner of Upper hill area. Upperhill is the new Nairobi business District with organizations such as World Bank, Europian Union, Embassy of Japan, British High commision, Citi Bank, ADB amongst other International Organizations and Multinational companies located here. It is thus a surprise to read your rating of the location as terrible. Perhaps the ongoing road construction and Buildings led you to this conclusion.

Regarding the scalding hot water, this could have been regulated easily using the basin mixer tap. The mixer allows you luxury of choosing between cold, hot or in between. It is true that the room lacked fridge and kettle. While we do not promise fridge in your selected room category we have noted and hereby apologize regarding the kettle. We will look into it.

With Kind Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

On our 3 days trip to Nairobi, we stayed at this hotel as suggested by our tour guide Moses Benn of Sunset Africa. The location is remote, not in a touristy area and there is nothing to see by walking about. In fact the electric fencing at the hotel and neighbors got us concerned. And we are told not to wander around. Such fences are normal in Nairobi due to the security risks. The hotel seemed new, but was under patronised as we were the only guests when we were there for the 1st 2 nights.
We had a 'suite' but the bathroom water system leaked but they were quick to react with towels. The room was comfortable, clean and large. The staff was outstandingly helpful and cheerful esp Solange Nadia (front desk) and Livingstone (manager). The restaurant had limited menu for food choices and it took a long time to prepare our meals even though we were the only customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUH_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Nairobi UpperHill Hotel and we appreciate the feedback from your stay.

Nairobi UpperHill Hotel is located in a serene area and we endeavour to provide our guests with the utmost security during their stay with us.

Our staff are always on hand to assist where needed and we are glad they were helpful to make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you again, and we welcome you back to Nairobi UpperHill Hotel on your next visit to Nairobi.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel takes some finding, that's for sure! Luckily, we had a taxi driver who was willing to indulge us. Although the hotel is new, it seemed to already be in a bit of disrepair. Many of the staff are still being trained it seems too.

Our room had a comfortable bed, a decent television and good air circulation, however, whenever we showered, the water would leak out of the bathroom and end up pooling under our bed, which made for a very humid situation. We were also puzzled by the lack of fan or air conditioner. Staying here in the summer might be an issue! Another oddity was the fact our room was bereft of a phone, so any time we needed someone, we had to walk down to reception ourselves.

The main benefits to staying here are the location, a reasonably safe area though we were still warned not to walk outside by ourselves, especially at night, and the food. The French restaurant attached to the hotel serves a lovely breakfast, but you will have to request what you want since there is no fixed menu. The restaurant will also deliver to your room, which can be tricky since there is no phone to call down with!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are farther from the restaurant, which can be loud at times in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUH_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for staying with us at the Nairobi UpperHill Hotel and for your feedback.

We always seek to provide our esteemed guests with the most comfortable stay.

The hotel is currently setting up signs on the major turns to ensure that directions are clear. We have also noted your in-room concerns with extreme interest and our maintenance teams are urgently looking into the same.

Nairobi UpperHill Hotel most appreciates your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to on your next visit.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A midst serene and clean surrounding nestles Nairobi Hill Hotel. Arrived at night and the taxi driver took some time in locating it but once I reached there I felt at home. Was too tired and wanted the restaurant to rustle up something vegetarian and lo I was served piping hot food exactly what I would have relished at home and that too late in the night. Staff at the restaurant and front desk are really courteous and helpful. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. Whatever I asked for it was provided - be it an electric adapter or newspapers. I would definitely come again and stay with them and would recommend everyone visiting Nairobi to stay here for once. I will be leaving tomorrow for Addis and have already started missing the hotel and its staff. Oh yes WI FI quality is excellent and so is there breakfast.
I would though appreciate the entire staff who attended me at restaurant or at reception but Agnes, Diana, and Millicent really pampered me.

Room Tip: Front side rooms are facing towards courtyard and the back side rooms are facing towards a residenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUH_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Ravin,

Thank you for choosing Nairobi UpperHill Hotel.

We are glad your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel on your next visit.

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel

Address: Upper Hill, Off Matumbato Road | Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Upperhill Hotel is a new 4 Star Boutique Hotel ideal for Business and Leisure traveler. The hotel is strategically located in Upperhill, has spacious Accommodation rooms, Conference facilities, a Boardroom, a business center and offers complementary Airport pickup and WiFi internet connectivity.Some Organizations and Companies near us are World Bank, European Union(900meters), Coca Cola(850meters, Embassy of Japan(1.1Km), City Bank, British High Commission(1.25Km), GeoMap Center(200meters), JKIA(12Kms) and Wilson Airport(3Kms). Range of Accommodation Room Categories: Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Executive Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.