We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Hill, Off Matumbato Road | Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

On our 3 days trip to Nairobi, we stayed at this hotel as suggested by our tour guide Moses Benn of Sunset Africa. The location is remote, not in a touristy area and there is nothing to see by walking about. In fact the electric fencing at the hotel and neighbors got us concerned. And we are told not to wander around. Such fences are normal in Nairobi due to the security risks. The hotel seemed new, but was under patronised as we were the only guests when we were there for the 1st 2 nights.
We had a 'suite' but the bathroom water system leaked but they were quick to react with towels. The room was comfortable, clean and large. The staff was outstandingly helpful and cheerful esp Solange Nadia (front desk) and Livingstone (manager). The restaurant had limited menu for food choices and it took a long time to prepare our meals even though we were the only customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel takes some finding, that's for sure! Luckily, we had a taxi driver who was willing to indulge us. Although the hotel is new, it seemed to already be in a bit of disrepair. Many of the staff are still being trained it seems too.

Our room had a comfortable bed, a decent television and good air circulation, however, whenever we showered, the water would leak out of the bathroom and end up pooling under our bed, which made for a very humid situation. We were also puzzled by the lack of fan or air conditioner. Staying here in the summer might be an issue! Another oddity was the fact our room was bereft of a phone, so any time we needed someone, we had to walk down to reception ourselves.

The main benefits to staying here are the location, a reasonably safe area though we were still warned not to walk outside by ourselves, especially at night, and the food. The French restaurant attached to the hotel serves a lovely breakfast, but you will have to request what you want since there is no fixed menu. The restaurant will also deliver to your room, which can be tricky since there is no phone to call down with!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are farther from the restaurant, which can be loud at times in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A midst serene and clean surrounding nestles Nairobi Hill Hotel. Arrived at night and the taxi driver took some time in locating it but once I reached there I felt at home. Was too tired and wanted the restaurant to rustle up something vegetarian and lo I was served piping hot food exactly what I would have relished at home and that too late in the night. Staff at the restaurant and front desk are really courteous and helpful. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. Whatever I asked for it was provided - be it an electric adapter or newspapers. I would definitely come again and stay with them and would recommend everyone visiting Nairobi to stay here for once. I will be leaving tomorrow for Addis and have already started missing the hotel and its staff. Oh yes WI FI quality is excellent and so is there breakfast.
I would though appreciate the entire staff who attended me at restaurant or at reception but Agnes, Diana, and Millicent really pampered me.

Room Tip: Front side rooms are facing towards courtyard and the back side rooms are facing towards a residenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Place looks great but the restaurant staff are very poor took 10 minutes to get the attention of the server when the cafe was completely empty worse still ordering food was an ordeal on its own staff seemed to have no clue in general

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi Upperhi... H, Manager at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for having chosen to stay at Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel in April.
Thank you also for your valuable feedback on our facilities and services.

We hereby extend our sincere apologies for the below standard service you received in the restaurant. We would like to assure you that this is not our standard of service and relevant measures have been taken to ensure that all our guests are attended in a prompt and courteous manner.
We have also carried out extensive product knowledge training for all our staff as we strive to live up to our brand promise of personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel on your next visit.

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

"La bonne bouche", that is the restaurant that defines fine eating in Nairobi today. This restaurant is situated at the Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel. It is designed like a luxury tent complete with tent-like chairs, not squeezed. The meals are super good, no matter what you order. If you are wondering where to go for an evening outing or office lunch or dinner, this is the place to go.
For business meetings they have a modern board room.
Everything is new and squeaky clean and I pray they maintain the standards.
After our lunch, we were given a tour of the hotel rooms and my honest opinion is that they are a cut above the rest. The rooms are spacious, airy and very very clean and most important very affordable.
Because it is small, the service is personalised.
There is ample, secure parking.
Fantastic as a business or leisure venue.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok but you can chose a room facing the Upperhill skyline or the hotel restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Upper Hill has its fantastic touch of exotic legacy that Nairobi offers. The rooms are simply great and the view is marvelous. I was on a business trip here, but did manage to have some leisure time as well. The hotel matches every taste. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dampierre sur avre
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I just stayed 4 nights at Upper Hill Hotel on our way back to France, coming from South Africa. The hotel is ideally located, close to the city center, yet within easy reach from the airport which allows to skip Nairobi's traffic jams. Our room had a very pleasant and trendy design, it was spacious and very clean (the hotel is brand new) with a comfortable bed and all amenities. The staff was friendly and professional (we hope it will last) the food at "La bonne bouche" was excellent and the service staff very nice and efficient. Wifi was available and worked well. Congratulations to all for an enjoyable stay in Nairobi. This hotel is a very good deal and worth the spending.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel

Address: Upper Hill, Off Matumbato Road | Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi Upperhill Hotel is a new 4 Star Boutique Hotel ideal for Business and Leisure traveler. The hotel is strategically located in Upperhill, has spacious Accommodation rooms, Conference facilities, a Boardroom, a business center and offers complementary Airport pickup and WiFi internet connectivity.Some Organizations and Companies near us are World Bank, European Union(900meters), Coca Cola(850meters, Embassy of Japan(1.1Km), City Bank, British High Commission(1.25Km), GeoMap Center(200meters), JKIA(12Kms) and Wilson Airport(3Kms). Range of Accommodation Room Categories: Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Executive Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.