We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had no intention of staying at the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had no intention of staying at the...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I had no intention of staying at the Nairobi Safari Club, or Nairobi for that matter. After a flight cancellation, however, I found myself very fortunate to spend the night in this establishment. It is a high-end hotel and had the feel as such. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. The suite (all rooms are suites) was spacious and very well-kept. The restaurant had a tasty buffet for both dinner and breakfast. Neither Internet nor meals are included in general room rates as far as I am aware; the airline covered my meals and I wasn't prepared to pay for the Internet. While I didn't have the opportunity to try the heated pool, it looked very nice. I marked the "value" down because I often feel these high-end kind of hotels charge too much for basic services, especially ones you'd find for free at cheaper hotels. Still, it was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it for travelers who are not on a tight budget.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    65
    60
    25
    13
See reviews for
28
53
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naij
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I only have 2 words to describe this hotel - DON'T STAY...... may i add even if its offered for FREE! Which is what happened in my case! I missed my connecting flight and Kenya Airways put me up in this hotel. It was a nightmare! I checked out within the hour and went across town to the Tribe. Please its not worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

This hotel is in a convenient location and is situated near the University of Nairobi main campus on University Road.

The check-in process was quick and we were soon on our way to our rooms. The Keycard has the room number printed on it, so do not lose it or someone is going to go straight to your room and steal your possessions! What mastermind thought of putting room numbers on the keycard!

The rooms in the hotel are all suites and there is a television in the lounge area along with a fridge (no contents) and two complimentary bottles of water which are replaced daily. There is a reasonable range of English channels on the TV including two movie channels. A complimentary newspaper is thrust under your door each day.

There was a bowl of fruit in the room which was taken away and not replaced after the first day! Strange that they would take away a bowl of fruit - so eat them as soon as possible or they will be gone the following day.

The lounge also had a kettle and a selection of tea and coffee and whitener. These were topped up every day.

The bedroom area had a hairdryer and a safe inside the wardrobe. You are encouraged to lock up your valuables by the hotel - this is Nairobi after all.

The bathroom is in need of some updating and new towels need to be purchased as the old ones are quite tatty. The toilet flush is noisy and you will be able to hear the toilets from neighbouring rooms.

The supplied toiletries are basic but there is a supermarket nearby so that you can buy anything that you may need.

Be prepared to be ripped off for the Internet as the rates are really high and the speed is really slow. The business centre is not worth using either so find yourself an Internet cafe nearby.

The bed is comfy but sleep quality is poor because of noise from neighbouring suites and street noise. This can be really annoying at times so bring a pair of earplugs.

The hotel charges an additional $100 if you bring a friend to your room after 10pm - so if you are planning on having any visitors, then stay in the lounge or bar area.

Restaurants in the hotel are reasonable but service can be painfully slow. There is a good choice of food and drink and the prices are acceptable.

The hotel has a gift shop with a selection of items and the prices although not cheap are better than the prices that you will pay at the Masai Market. Go downtown to buy tourist trinkets or if you don't want to haggle, buy them from the hotel gift shop.

The hotel has a swimming pool and a fitness centre. The fitness centre is hot and smelly and the equipment needs maintenance, especially the treadmills which can be dangerous to use.

In summary - good location, needs updating, good service and location but noisy rooms means that sleep quality will be poor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Friendly staff. Ok food in the bar. Suites are spacious but a bit outdated. Probably this was top of the line in the 70-ties. Sometimes disturbing noice from the street in front of the hotel. OK hotel, no more no less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Very helpful and polite staff. The rooms are very clean and all have a lounge suite. Complimentary bottled water are in the rooms.
The only downfall for us, which is not the hotel's fault was that there was construction work going on outside the rear of the building which started at the ridiculous time of 7pm and finished at 4am. Despite being on the 10th floor it sounded like we were on the 1st floor.

Stayed again at the end of our trip to be on the same side of the building and on 8th floor. by 9pm we had to ring reception and ask to be moved to a different room. Got moved to the 10th floor at the front.

No great problem apart from the traffic in the morning.

Could do with a bit of modernising, but this is Kenya after all

Stayed December 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

My first encounter with this hotel was a rude shock. When I reached this hotel in evening there was no electricity. I came to know, that there was no power since afternoon and there was problem in Hotel's distribution system.

Did my check-in in candle light and then climbed 7 floors to reach the room. It was a really adventurous as you have to manage down coming traffic and at certain places on stairs there was no candle. Room was quite big with a sitting room and separate bedroom. My room had a balcony attached to it. But you cant stay in balcony for long due traffic noise and pollution.

When I entered into the room there was a smell coming, but I couldn't make out for the reason due to no power. When I woke up in the morning, then I realized that that was a leakage in the toilet and the water has seeped into the room. Entire carpet in the room was deep into the water. I have to really jump and walk while walking in the room.

Power came at around 11 PM.

Morning, I told the Hotel staff about this and when I came back in the evening the leakage was fixed and carpet was dry but for the smell.

Breakfast was good with quite a variety.

However, not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed one night and it was fine. It isn't modern and hip - it's a room. The breakfast was again fine. A good place to stay if you need to be in the area, morning traffic can be killer - and don't want to pay a ransom at the Norfolk.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
LAICO Regency Hotel
LAICO Regency Hotel
#63 of 131 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 131 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.