We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had no intention of staying at the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I had no intention of staying at the...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010 via mobile

I had no intention of staying at the Nairobi Safari Club, or Nairobi for that matter. After a flight cancellation, however, I found myself very fortunate to spend the night in this establishment. It is a high-end hotel and had the feel as such. The staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. The suite (all rooms are suites) was spacious and very well-kept. The restaurant had a tasty buffet for both dinner and breakfast. Neither Internet nor meals are included in general room rates as far as I am aware; the airline covered my meals and I wasn't prepared to pay for the Internet. While I didn't have the opportunity to try the heated pool, it looked very nice. I marked the "value" down because I often feel these high-end kind of hotels charge too much for basic services, especially ones you'd find for free at cheaper hotels. Still, it was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it for travelers who are not on a tight budget.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    53
    22
    11
See reviews for
24
51
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naij
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I only have 2 words to describe this hotel - DON'T STAY...... may i add even if its offered for FREE! Which is what happened in my case! I missed my connecting flight and Kenya Airways put me up in this hotel. It was a nightmare! I checked out within the hour and went across town to the Tribe. Please its not worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

This hotel is in a convenient location and is situated near the University of Nairobi main campus on University Road.

The check-in process was quick and we were soon on our way to our rooms. The Keycard has the room number printed on it, so do not lose it or someone is going to go straight to your room and steal your possessions! What mastermind thought of putting room numbers on the keycard!

The rooms in the hotel are all suites and there is a television in the lounge area along with a fridge (no contents) and two complimentary bottles of water which are replaced daily. There is a reasonable range of English channels on the TV including two movie channels. A complimentary newspaper is thrust under your door each day.

There was a bowl of fruit in the room which was taken away and not replaced after the first day! Strange that they would take away a bowl of fruit - so eat them as soon as possible or they will be gone the following day.

The lounge also had a kettle and a selection of tea and coffee and whitener. These were topped up every day.

The bedroom area had a hairdryer and a safe inside the wardrobe. You are encouraged to lock up your valuables by the hotel - this is Nairobi after all.

The bathroom is in need of some updating and new towels need to be purchased as the old ones are quite tatty. The toilet flush is noisy and you will be able to hear the toilets from neighbouring rooms.

The supplied toiletries are basic but there is a supermarket nearby so that you can buy anything that you may need.

Be prepared to be ripped off for the Internet as the rates are really high and the speed is really slow. The business centre is not worth using either so find yourself an Internet cafe nearby.

The bed is comfy but sleep quality is poor because of noise from neighbouring suites and street noise. This can be really annoying at times so bring a pair of earplugs.

The hotel charges an additional $100 if you bring a friend to your room after 10pm - so if you are planning on having any visitors, then stay in the lounge or bar area.

Restaurants in the hotel are reasonable but service can be painfully slow. There is a good choice of food and drink and the prices are acceptable.

The hotel has a gift shop with a selection of items and the prices although not cheap are better than the prices that you will pay at the Masai Market. Go downtown to buy tourist trinkets or if you don't want to haggle, buy them from the hotel gift shop.

The hotel has a swimming pool and a fitness centre. The fitness centre is hot and smelly and the equipment needs maintenance, especially the treadmills which can be dangerous to use.

In summary - good location, needs updating, good service and location but noisy rooms means that sleep quality will be poor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Friendly staff. Ok food in the bar. Suites are spacious but a bit outdated. Probably this was top of the line in the 70-ties. Sometimes disturbing noice from the street in front of the hotel. OK hotel, no more no less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Very helpful and polite staff. The rooms are very clean and all have a lounge suite. Complimentary bottled water are in the rooms.
The only downfall for us, which is not the hotel's fault was that there was construction work going on outside the rear of the building which started at the ridiculous time of 7pm and finished at 4am. Despite being on the 10th floor it sounded like we were on the 1st floor.

Stayed again at the end of our trip to be on the same side of the building and on 8th floor. by 9pm we had to ring reception and ask to be moved to a different room. Got moved to the 10th floor at the front.

No great problem apart from the traffic in the morning.

Could do with a bit of modernising, but this is Kenya after all

Stayed December 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

My first encounter with this hotel was a rude shock. When I reached this hotel in evening there was no electricity. I came to know, that there was no power since afternoon and there was problem in Hotel's distribution system.

Did my check-in in candle light and then climbed 7 floors to reach the room. It was a really adventurous as you have to manage down coming traffic and at certain places on stairs there was no candle. Room was quite big with a sitting room and separate bedroom. My room had a balcony attached to it. But you cant stay in balcony for long due traffic noise and pollution.

When I entered into the room there was a smell coming, but I couldn't make out for the reason due to no power. When I woke up in the morning, then I realized that that was a leakage in the toilet and the water has seeped into the room. Entire carpet in the room was deep into the water. I have to really jump and walk while walking in the room.

Power came at around 11 PM.

Morning, I told the Hotel staff about this and when I came back in the evening the leakage was fixed and carpet was dry but for the smell.

Breakfast was good with quite a variety.

However, not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed one night and it was fine. It isn't modern and hip - it's a room. The breakfast was again fine. A good place to stay if you need to be in the area, morning traffic can be killer - and don't want to pay a ransom at the Norfolk.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel
Nairobi Safari Hotel
Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.