We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE BIT OF LUXURY IN THE CAPITAL.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Newport Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“LITTLE BIT OF LUXURY IN THE CAPITAL.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

After camping for 11 days on safari and Kilimanjaro, we decided to treat ourselves. We were not disappointed!

PROS
1. Rooms. "The only en suite hotel" is their motto, and they deliver. The rooms have a sitting room and a bedroom, and are extremely spacious. Ask for a room on a top floor (i.e. 10-14), and you'll get a sprawling view over Nairobi.
2. Location. You can walk anywhere in central Nairobi...but obviously don't go out at night alone or with any money.
3. Security. Very, very safe hotel....
4. Pool area. The pool is heavily heated, has a proper "deep end" and is relatively large.
5. Breakfast. Epic portions and very decent quality.
6. Restaurants. I think the hotel has 3-4 restaurants. We tried 2. Both were decent and reasonably priced (kinda). You only realize the importance of this point once you arrive, and realize you don't want to face Nairobbery at night.

CONS
1. Service could be better. When we checked in a day early, they were very reluctant to accommodate. However we eventually got everything sorted.

If you can get a deal (e.g. <$140, <90 GBP or less), I would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
24
53
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nosy Be, Madagascar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We spent a couple of days at the Hotel and were very impressed.
It is very centrally located in Nairobi about 45 mins from the Airport and has great facilities including a swimming pool and fitness room.
The rooms were huge and had been recently refurbished.
The hotel has a Pizzeria, which looked great but we didn’t have the time to try out..It also has a restaurant where we did take the lunchtime buffet on a few occasions and the food was always excellent.
The staff was courteous and extraordinarily friendly and I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our safari. The room was large clean & comfortable. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a good base for the start of a safari or for seeing the rest of Nairobi. The Sheldrick elephant orphenage is not far & worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

+ve
Huge rooms
Great staff
Food is pretty good (try the pizzas!)
Great location for central Nairobi
Good value for an African hotel

-ve
Generally in need of a revamp
towels and pillows are appalling

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed at a number of holels in Nairobi as the hub of our African trip.

This undoubtly had the best rooms, fantastic Buffet , helpful staff and great location.

Booked through our african tour company

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antuf, General manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 22, 2009
Thank you very much for your honest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

While the room was reasonable the rest of the hotel was awful. This is classed as a 5 star hotel, the food does not come close to a 'little chef' , the table cloths are permamently stained and dirty, the gift shop charges extortionate prices - 200 shilings for a mars bar - 75 shillings in the local shop. Swimming pool tiles mouldy. No garden suroundings and constant traffic noise. staff unhelpful and uninterested

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antuf, Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 25, 2009
It is amazing that we have to get badly rated because of the price of a Mars bar. Please consider our overhead expenses compared to a little kiosk. Regarding the garden surroundings, please remember that you were in a City Hotel. I do not want to say anything about the other comments because the rest of the honest reviews prove that yours are not justified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

very good conferencing facilities...

-- safe parking
-- good location
-- staff were polite and helpful
-- conference room pleasant and clean
-- overhead projector /sound quality etc was good
-- seating arrangements very accommodating
--delicious bitings and they served earl grey tea!(which in kenya is a treat)
-- toilets clean
-- pool luncheon was lovely (fish was delicious and fresh)
-- restaurant lunch was tasty but service was slightly wanting - (the waitress took ages to serve us soup and when it did arrive it was all spilling over the sides)
-- desserts are very good - strawberry tartlets and white chocolate delicacies were amazing
-- stationary,water etc plentiful
-- room was too cold but they switched off the air-conditioning after i requested, and put on fans which was so much better

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.