We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good - Internet is non-existent - Also lost my shirt” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel is good - Internet is non-existent - Also lost my shirt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The free internet is pretty much false advertising. It takes 2-3 minutes to load even the most basic sites (google). Half of the time the page doesn't load at all.
In fact the internet on my phone is faster and more reliable.

On check-out I forgot my shirt in the closet. I called back on a few occasions. But the shirt has disappeared. Off course, I shouldn't have forgotten it in the first place. But you would think a hotel of this caliber would at least hold onto found objects...

The suite was nice. The bed was great.

But the water pressure in the bathroom was laughable. Also there was no holder for the shower head so I had to hold it up myself whenever I took a shower. In fact, there was a holder, but it didn't match the head. They'd probably replaced the head and forgot about the holder.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Front Office Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are looking into the issue of your missing shirt. Apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    60
    25
    13
See reviews for
27
53
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the CBD and is very convenient for meetings. There is no parking on the premises but they have an empty plot 2 blocks down for parking. The good news is that they validate for those going to the hotel. Please be sure to inform the guard that you're going to the hotel so you get the ticket that the hotel will stamp for you. One sees elements of what was intended as a great establishment from the moment one walks in but there are elements that betray the wear of the hotel from the rather faded valet uniform to the almost threadbare carpets. The food is great. They have a lovely selection at the buffet and the staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Front Office Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Bar at the ground floor, restaurant seats at the upper floor, the street is not too busy, although it is very central so it is relaxing and pleasant to sit there while waiting for food. Service standard, but nothing special. Food very good, lots of local dishes, chicken stew with rice and Luo style tilapia were great. We will definitely come back.
We did not use other hotel facilities nor do we know anything about them. It is very possible that the hotel has another restaurant, judging from the photos on their web page.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Front Office Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Dive of a hotel, elevator music louder than a rock concert, shower doesn't work, aircon doesn't work, no wifi, slow wired, poor electrics that do not look safe, terrible outlet placement.

On the good side it's near my office.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Front Office Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was in Nairobi last month, and i booked a room in this hotel:
Though from outside it looks old, but everything inside is different:
we do have different views, but i was satisfied by the quality of the services we received:
Being in the center of Nairobi city, it was easier for me to do my business in time:
Food and rooms were Ok for me and i do recommend other business travelers to stay here

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Front Office Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A bit outdated for a junior suite (the hotel has only junior suites). Everything looks old. King size bed is fine, shower in the bath tub. I paid the 'special rate' for USD 190 for two persons, incl breakfast. The hotel is well situated in the business center of Nairobi and rather safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of the hotel. If you are in the back, you will 'enjoy' the weekend v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here on business and left the hotel early - the hotel looks like it hasn't been updated since the 60's (even though it was built in the 80's). The road noise from the street in front of the hotel made it just about impossible to sleep. The overall look and feel was tired, from the unkept bathrooms to the average breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
LAICO Regency Hotel
LAICO Regency Hotel
#67 of 129 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.