We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still needs improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Mauritius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still needs improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ideally situated in Nairobi city centre, the hotel really needs to be revamped. Old-fashioned, the service is nonetheless good.
I usually eat at the Sundeck Restaurant which offers grilled meat and/or pizzas and the service always proves friendly.
Apart from the reception and cashier staff, all the other "service" staff from housekeeping to the restaurant waiters/waitresses and the doorman are excellent and very kind & polite.
The rooms are big, and they have made the effort lately to put in some flat screens and sofa-beds.
The wifi is really bad, but there is a network cable in each room for laptops. So do not expect much for your wireless devices. The bathroom highly deserves refurbishing and the plumbing are so old that you may be afraid of breaking it only by touching it. One of the shower handles just came out while I was opening it.
The electricity sockets in the rooms sometimes do not work, and you may experience some difficulties with some of the lights in the room.
Enough for the negative feedback.
I have stayed at NSC 6 times between 2011 and 2014 mainly because of its location near our offices. The service staff do recognize me each time I come back and some of them even remember the approximate dates of my previous stays. This is really a nice point to hear when you come at this hotel.
The breakfast is very acceptable, but you need to be early. Lunch is buffet style with varied cuisine.
Overall, good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the University. The rooms at the back face the Nakumatt shopping centre and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    61
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
24
53
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there at least 3 times between the year 2012 till 2013 for work as it was located within walking distance of the client's office.

First off, the price for the stay includes internet but no wifi except in the lobby, free breakfast and the staff are polite and always eager to help.

This is where most of the important positive points end, sadly the facilities for each room are not created equal and sometimes if you're lucky, you would get a room where all the power sockets, safe, and even air-conditioner works. Other times you don't, some would be working but other might not. After the first 2 times, we discovered that rooms at the 5th seem to be relatively okay and acceptable. Please understand that we were there for work and required either long hours at the client's site or long nights in the hotel room hammering out fixes for their system so the importance of a good and functional room was paramount to our needs.

But, if you only staying as a stop over from the airport before the tour agency comes to drive you for your long Safari vacation (we have noted this every morning as we left the hotel to go to work), then this hotel is suited for that purpose nicely.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for week for work. The staff were very friendly and knew my every move, "out again mum". There was no wifi only cable to connect which meant no phone wifi, for work that was a bit limiting. The suite just seems like wasted space especially as they didn't fix my tv, the ariel was hanging out of hole in the wall. The pillows were new in 1985, and there was a lot of street noise & stale food smell even on 14th floor. And the pool is not quite what the photo promises. Location is ok, but u can get better for better value in Nairobi - just felt like the place needed a bit more love!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Many of the negative reviews I do not agree with. Yes, the hotel is very dated. Everything looks original 60s except the elevators. Suites are huge, clean, and in my case the AC and wireless internet worked just fine. Bed might be too firm for some. They were very accommodating and gave me a VERY early check-in as well as a VERY late checkout. Breakfast buffet was complete but had no variety. The other reviews scared me a little, but I found the hotel fine overall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is not a review for vindictiveness, and, honestly, I'm not one of those "angry people", that needs to get things off their chest. I honestly just want to provide this review so that others don't have high expectations and are disappointed. Luckily for me, I just needed a place to put my head down, so ultimately, it wasn't the end of the world. If, however, you plan to stay in a 5 star hotel to be impressed or impress someone, choose another hotel in Nairobi...this just doesn't justify the status...I would suggest 3 at a push.

I'm sure I haven't got enough characters remaining to tell you everything, but from waiting 30 minutes to be checked in (and I was the only person waiting), from the mini bar being empty, only 3 fuzzy TV channels in local dialect, to the doorman arguing with the porter in front of me as to who was going to go and get my car for me...these were the not so bad things!

Honestly, readers, I'm not telling you not to stay here, I'm trying to make you aware that you'll get the service of a 2/3 star hotel/motel...not a 5 star one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Apologies for your delayed check in. Thank you very much for your feedback. Your observations have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is an all-suite hotel which is a plus as it makes it a little easier to entertain in the hotel. However, because of the kinds of furnishings on offer it does feel a little classic (old school) so lacks that premium feel you get when you go to other newer hotels within its price range. The service was however very good and everyone is very helpful and always smiling. It's also located in town but fairly away from activity and was quite quiet (although I did have a room not he 15th floor so maybe that helped. The gym feels cramped and is small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there as a lay over guest, courtesy of Kenya Airways. I like the all suite concept but this hotel needs a make over....a lot has changed in the hospitality industry since the 90s.

The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of updating our room furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.