We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Clean and confortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Was Clean and confortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Many of the negative reviews I do not agree with. Yes, the hotel is very dated. Everything looks original 60s except the elevators. Suites are huge, clean, and in my case the AC and wireless internet worked just fine. Bed might be too firm for some. They were very accommodating and gave me a VERY early check-in as well as a VERY late checkout. Breakfast buffet was complete but had no variety. The other reviews scared me a little, but I found the hotel fine overall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
24
53
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is not a review for vindictiveness, and, honestly, I'm not one of those "angry people", that needs to get things off their chest. I honestly just want to provide this review so that others don't have high expectations and are disappointed. Luckily for me, I just needed a place to put my head down, so ultimately, it wasn't the end of the world. If, however, you plan to stay in a 5 star hotel to be impressed or impress someone, choose another hotel in Nairobi...this just doesn't justify the status...I would suggest 3 at a push.

I'm sure I haven't got enough characters remaining to tell you everything, but from waiting 30 minutes to be checked in (and I was the only person waiting), from the mini bar being empty, only 3 fuzzy TV channels in local dialect, to the doorman arguing with the porter in front of me as to who was going to go and get my car for me...these were the not so bad things!

Honestly, readers, I'm not telling you not to stay here, I'm trying to make you aware that you'll get the service of a 2/3 star hotel/motel...not a 5 star one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Apologies for your delayed check in. Thank you very much for your feedback. Your observations have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is an all-suite hotel which is a plus as it makes it a little easier to entertain in the hotel. However, because of the kinds of furnishings on offer it does feel a little classic (old school) so lacks that premium feel you get when you go to other newer hotels within its price range. The service was however very good and everyone is very helpful and always smiling. It's also located in town but fairly away from activity and was quite quiet (although I did have a room not he 15th floor so maybe that helped. The gym feels cramped and is small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there as a lay over guest, courtesy of Kenya Airways. I like the all suite concept but this hotel needs a make over....a lot has changed in the hospitality industry since the 90s.

The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of updating our room furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Kenya airways flight from Nairobi was cancelled and after 6 hours of painful waiting at the airport lounge Kenya airways people finally decided to take us to this hotel. It is a 5 star hotel with suite rooms only. This was my first stay at any (5 star) hotel outside India and I was amazed to see large two room suite with lots of furniture, lots of space and nice large windows at both of the rooms. There are all amenities inside the room one can think of. Only problem I faced was with the Air condition system. It was running but was not cooling at the required temperature level. I called the housekeeping guys twice to sort out the problem. They came and checked but could not make the situation better. Anyway it was a one night stay only, so somehow night passed. Dinner and breakfast were also served to us. Both were buffet and varieties of food options were available. Food quality was also good. Overall nice stay and I would like to thank Kenya airways and the hotel authority for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Boy if ever there was a property screaming out for a makeover this is it.
Obviously this hotel was the ultimate in luxury when built, I'm guessing the 60's. Virtually nothing has been done to it since.
On the plus side every room is a suite, rare and spacious, and in our case we had a balcony (there 3 nights). Also the staff generally are friendly, in particular a guy on the desk called James (mentioned in some other reviews) is an asset to be treasured.
Everything else is shabby and coming apart. Even the lounges in the foyer all are desperate for recovering. First impressions people!!!
This theme contiues everywhere. The dining room, you can see was the ultimate when built, but time has moved on. Half the furniture is mismatched, and cutlery, and everything else. At breakfast there is no one really overseeing the banemaries if they need filling, and selection sparse.
The bar has the basics to be fabulous. The Pizza deck above it shoud be a great place to hang out, but everything is busted up. The furniture, apart from keeping with the theme of being mismatched, looks like the sort of stuff you find on the side of the road (possibly not in Nairobi) on throwing out night. The Pizza cooking could use a bit of work also. Each night virtually nobody was in there. I wonder why?
You get my drift.
This hotel could, and should, be the local version of iconic places like Raffles in Singapore or The Metropole in Hanoi. Hotels famous for their old world style and charm. Luxury with timeless style. However to do that someone, maybe a large international chain, needs to pump some money into it.
For their sake I hope this happens soon.

Room Tip: Not so much a tip for the hotel but if you're there a full day take the Elephant Orphanage, Gira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. rest assured that we have acknowledged it and will save it for future reference and training as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed during our 2 week safari.

WiFi is available only from the lobby area.

Our room was 612. Because we are triple occupancy, they brought in a bed and set it up in the sitting area when we checked in after dinner. Don't understand why this wasn't done earlier, they had all day. There was plenty of table-top surface to put our things and both the sitting area and bed room were well lit.

There was a mini bar, complimentary bottles of water, coffee/tea making amenities, hair dryer and the usual bathroom toiletries. Could do without the bidet in the tiny bathroom. The door to the bathroom is also awkwardly positioned.

Breakfast was buffet style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your observations have been noted and forwarded to the relevant heads of department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.