We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here one night! It was a breath of fresh air. Staff were very professional, suites were a bit old but well kept and clean and services were punctual. The choices at breakfast were adequate but it always makes a huge difference when the staff are helpful and friendly.

I would recommend is hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay smack bang in the city centre. It probably costs a bit more than some of the other hotels but it's absolutely worth it.

A big plus for me was the fact that right around the corner there is a Nakmatt and a bit further along a Java House (IMO - the best places for coffee in Nairobi).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will choose to stay with us once again on your next visit to Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
24
53
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Yes, It a nice hotel were you can be a little bit nostalgic about the 70. I move from the Meridain to the Safari Club, but nothing compare including the price too.
Everything is nice and good here. Room are very large with a living room, fitness and pool are great. Staff is very nice and the overall service is good. Yes it is more expensive but at least value is good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback especially about the service provided. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your safari in Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a hotel that has seen many years. It feels like a family house. Things have aged... but they still work. The food is nice, the lift is fast and the rooms are all suites. Jackson Kibuchi,the Assistant Front Office Manager speaks French.

I was impressed that they could make a breakfast pack for me at 5:45 because I was leaving early, earlier than breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up, and you can get a larger view. Dont bother much about check in and check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night before heading off on safari. Room spacious and clean. Breakfast served early so we could eat before our 6.30 departure. Trip booked through http://www.explorerkenya.com/ who were fab. Word of advice take some small change with you as everyone expects a tip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the feedback, we do hope to enjoyed your safari and that it was everything you had anticipated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A 3.5 rating would be more accurate and in context maybe even a 4, but don't expect a 5 STAR hotel and be disappointed... I found my suite to be a bit dated but clean and well appointed - not luxurious by any means, but also not lacking any amenities. Positives: plenty of space, comfortable bed, clean, all electrical appliances worked & staff very friendly and helpful. Negatives: ambiance, furnishings and linen quite dated and worn & service can be quicker. Meals served in the hotel are hearty and generous. All in all a good African city experience in my books!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city of your here on holiday (back or front of hotel and >6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, your observations have been noted and will be forwarded to the management team accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to stay at the hotel for a night before continuing our trip on the following day. The whole ambiance of the hotel was very inviting and exuded quality/Class. We walked into the hotel at night with no prior booking and the staff was very accommodating. I would like to recognize JAMES who was the receptionist assisting us. He was friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and service oriented. After check-in, we were handed hot towels and a glass of fresh juice which was an unexpected but welcoming and appreciated gesture. The rooms are all suites which is especially convenient especially when one is travelling with other people due to the added privacy. Although the rooms are not as modern as other newer hotels, there is a certain old English aristocratic rustic feel about them which transports one to what used to be an elite hotel for club members only. A few minutes after entering our room, James called to find out whether or not the room was satisfactory and if there was anything else that we would be needing. Although located in Nairobi, the rooms are extremely quiet and convenient for getting a good night's sleep. The breakfast is buffet style and one is greeted with a smile by the staff. The food was lovely although it lacked a wide variety of vegetarian dishes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Cat W,
Thank you for your positive feedback, be assured that your recommendation in regards to James the front desk receptionist will be passed on to him and to the management team as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here during a 24-hour stopover in Nairobi and was quite disappointed. The hotel was advertised as a 5 star and my room as a suite but what I found when I opened the door was an old and smelly room. The level of cleanliness and decor are those of a 2 star hotel, but I could give the third star because of the large size. Definitely not a 5 star though.

Breakfast and the hotel facilities are also within the 2/3 star average and much much below what you would expect from a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Edoardo,
Your observations about the hotel and its facilities have been duly noted and forwarded to management for action. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;