We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Luanda, Angola
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit tired..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night only, so i had no time to see the pool and the fitness center. The hotel is located in the city center which is great and there's a mall nearby and several restaurants, but don't walk around alone at night, only if you're accompanied.
Rooms are large and clean, but a bit old and tired. Free and fast wifi, but only at the lobby, in the rooms the internet is slow..
Due to location and friendly staff i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear SheilinhaQ,

Thank you for choosing to recommend our hotel. Your observations about the nature of the rooms and the internet have been noted and forwarded to the relevant departments for attention. We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    53
    22
    11
See reviews for
24
51
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good hotel value for money. Good for conferencing. I like the food service as well as the hospitality of the staff. Its not a new hotel and a little bit of renovation can help keep up with the modern world. The best all ensuite hotel

Room Tip: Being an en suite hotel all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Raykey,

Thank you for taking time to let us know how your accommodation and conferencing experience was. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our meals and the hospitality of our staff. Your concerns about renovating the hotel have been noted and fowarded to management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I'm a bit torn between the three and the four stars for this place. It is a neat hotel and the rooms are huge. Perhaps it is a matter of personal taste: though everything is kept up well, it is a bit oldfashioned to my taste, I could do with a bit less formality and thick carpet! Though the rooms are nice and light, the hallways can be very dark and low. The pool could use some really good cleaning (rather greenish here and there).
As mentioned previously: the ethernet works ok, but WiFi in the rooms is really a must these days (especially if your rooms are this big).
Staff at the front desk is extremely helpful and really do everything they can. We did however also spend a few days here having meetings and workshops and the other hotel staff can be sweet, but slightly clueless at times. The big conference hall on the second floor is lovely - the one on the 3rd floor is ok, but very dark en windowless. I found the food quite ok.

What made me finally decide on the 3 stars is the price. Due to our meetings at the hotel they gave us a big discount, but their normal price seems a bit over-the-top.

So, it is up to you: if you don't mind paying a bit extra for some old-fashioned luxury, you may enjoy this place a lot. If you like things a bit more relaxed and modern, I guess somewhere else is a better bet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Anne-Marijke,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation and conference experience was at the Nairobi Safari Club. Your concerns about the pool and WIFI in the suites have been noted and forwarded to the relevant heads of department.

The structural design of the hotel has a large part to play in the design of the third floor conference rooms however, considerations as to how they can be brightened up have been put forward.

On the part of the staff, please be assured that in addition to good customer care, emphasis will be placed on product knowledge as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family found this hotel very safe, caring and warmly welcoming. We stayed twice, the second time for only one night. The room on the first occasion was superior to the second, but most acceptable. The location is perfect for walking to the market during daylight hours. The concieges were most helpful. And the breakfast buffet, included in the price, lavish indeed.
We will always remember the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It was our pleasure to serve you well. We are indeed grateful that your experience in the hotel was safe, and the staff were caring and warm. We will strive to ensure that this standard is maintained so that the experience is the same, on your next visit to the hotel. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Even though this star hotel accommodation is provided for many transit passenger by the State owned air line, it is worth planning to stay a couple of days enjoying the hotel accommodation and sight seeing packages around the city. Drinks, Continental food, well furnished and maintained rooms are praise worthy. Travel desk is very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your positive feedback, especially considering the circumstances under which you had to stay in the hotel. We do hope that you will stay with us again, on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Overall a very pleasant experience. Nice rooms. Good housekeeping but not the best we have seen. Very elegant buffet lunches. Nice piano dinners. Staff very accommodating. Centrally located in downtown Nairobi. Somewhat overpriced since not a 5 star facility. Loved the front desk which go out of the way to make guests happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Susan,

We are really glad you had a pleasant experience during your stay at our hotel. Your observations about pricing, and housekeeping have been noted and forwarded to management for action. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Pros:
- Good location: 5 min walking to my job
- big rooms: Seperate living room.
- free Internet
- Nice gym: Went couple of times

Cons
- big rooms: Who needs a seperate living room?
- they didn't have wi-fi. Only ethernet
- Food could be better: Breakfast was not that fresh and dinner was simple dishes.

Overall an overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know how your accommodation experience was. Your observations about the breakfast, dinner menu, internet wifi in the rooms and overall accommodation rate have been noted and forwarded to management for action. We do hope that these issues will not completely deter you from staying in with us when you are in Nairobi.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel
Nairobi Safari Hotel
Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.