We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel In Central Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Hotel In Central Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Overall a very pleasant experience. Nice rooms. Good housekeeping but not the best we have seen. Very elegant buffet lunches. Nice piano dinners. Staff very accommodating. Centrally located in downtown Nairobi. Somewhat overpriced since not a 5 star facility. Loved the front desk which go out of the way to make guests happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Susan,

We are really glad you had a pleasant experience during your stay at our hotel. Your observations about pricing, and housekeeping have been noted and forwarded to management for action. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
26
53
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Pros:
- Good location: 5 min walking to my job
- big rooms: Seperate living room.
- free Internet
- Nice gym: Went couple of times

Cons
- big rooms: Who needs a seperate living room?
- they didn't have wi-fi. Only ethernet
- Food could be better: Breakfast was not that fresh and dinner was simple dishes.

Overall an overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know how your accommodation experience was. Your observations about the breakfast, dinner menu, internet wifi in the rooms and overall accommodation rate have been noted and forwarded to management for action. We do hope that these issues will not completely deter you from staying in with us when you are in Nairobi.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rooms are okay, need some deep cleaning. Service is with a smile and is good. Front desk officer, I think Sheila, is par excellence. ! Food is superb ! Breakfast very good, so is lunch and dinner. There is a small mall and supermarket behind the hotel, where you buy things if you want to. Taxis are plenty. Safe to walk around the place in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodatinn experience was at the hotel. Your observations about the state of the rooms has been forwarded to management for action, as have those regarding the great service and food. We hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful downtown facility, wonderful room, all rooms are suites, we had a great stay! The service is amazing, the breakfast , lunch and dinner great! Customer service impeccable, location perfect for walking to downtown market, church's, and others central touristic points. Antique furniture on the rooms what make a romantic ambience. Night dinner with piano player, very nice! Hotel provided tour to the Nairobi National Park, what was a beautiful experience to see all the wild animals, I really recommend! I will go back...

Room Tip: All are suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Grazieler,
Thank you for your positive feedback. Your observations about housekeeping have been noted and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to our beautiful Nairobi city. Karibu Sana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is billed as a "luxury, all-suite hotel" and it is efficient and functional for one night or a day room, which I had, on the way to or from the airport. The furnishings and everything in the bedroom and bathroom needs updating or replacing. It all worked but definitely could use a major facelift. They advertise it as all suites, but I definitely wouldn't consider it a suite. It was clean, though, and the shower had plenty of hot water and worked well. The gym was fine for a workout and the meal I had in the Safari Terrace was very good and well-prepared (tilapia with rice and vegetables). It was a convenient stopover and close to the airport and was fine for that purpose. Also, the wifi is NOT FREE in the lobby - you can buy either 1/2 hour for US$6 or 1 hour. They told me they were "out of 1/2 hours" when I inquired - how can you be "out of 1/2 hours"??? I went to the desk and they logged me in for 1/2 hour at $6.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor and I think higher up would give you a nice view of Nairobi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Charlotte,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was. We apologize for not having the 1/2 hour cards when you needed them. Your observations about the hotel needing a major facelift will be forwarded to management for action. Thank you for complimenting the Safari Terrace on the meal they served you. This will go a long way in boosting their morale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I liked the atmosphere in the hotel and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. I stayed in a couple of rooms and they were ok. There were a few interesting bugs in the bathroom and a can of doom to kill them with, I recall, but nothing too worrying - this is Africa so to be expected. It's fine, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, your kind words about the hotel's atmosphere and restaurant food will be forwarded to the relevant departments. We apologize for the bug situation in the room, and look forward to seeing you when you return to our beautiful city of Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I agree with Holsrme, this hotel is ok for an overnight.We stayed there twice.
The first day/night we got a room/suite at the 14th floor and the receptionist said us we will have a nice view to Nairobi.
We saw the view and we decided to stay at the hotel once the young lady that was waiting for us at the airport also doesn´t seem to get excited with our ideia of walking at Nairobi.
In fact she said we didn´t need to exchange money, we could have the meals at the hotel and stay there.
The second time we got a room at the 9th floor smaller but with the view to the front door that was better.
The rooms had two parts one with the TV another with the bed and bathroom with bath and not only shower, and I have not big things to say.
The things were not new but were in reasonable conditions.
About the buffet restaurant we didn´t got a very good ideia, nothing special but expensive and they said the credit card machine was not working what didn´t convince me. We try the restaurant at the bar that has things simple to cook and was better.
The breakfast was not anything special but we were in the habit of eat something in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask a room to the front side and not to the rear side or you can loose your ideia of walking alone i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Your observations about the buffet have been forwarded to management for action. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.