We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel for a stopover when arriving or departing Kenya” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Moraga, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel for a stopover when arriving or departing Kenya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is billed as a "luxury, all-suite hotel" and it is efficient and functional for one night or a day room, which I had, on the way to or from the airport. The furnishings and everything in the bedroom and bathroom needs updating or replacing. It all worked but definitely could use a major facelift. They advertise it as all suites, but I definitely wouldn't consider it a suite. It was clean, though, and the shower had plenty of hot water and worked well. The gym was fine for a workout and the meal I had in the Safari Terrace was very good and well-prepared (tilapia with rice and vegetables). It was a convenient stopover and close to the airport and was fine for that purpose. Also, the wifi is NOT FREE in the lobby - you can buy either 1/2 hour for US$6 or 1 hour. They told me they were "out of 1/2 hours" when I inquired - how can you be "out of 1/2 hours"??? I went to the desk and they logged me in for 1/2 hour at $6.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor and I think higher up would give you a nice view of Nairobi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Charlotte,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was. We apologize for not having the 1/2 hour cards when you needed them. Your observations about the hotel needing a major facelift will be forwarded to management for action. Thank you for complimenting the Safari Terrace on the meal they served you. This will go a long way in boosting their morale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
26
53
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I liked the atmosphere in the hotel and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. I stayed in a couple of rooms and they were ok. There were a few interesting bugs in the bathroom and a can of doom to kill them with, I recall, but nothing too worrying - this is Africa so to be expected. It's fine, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, your kind words about the hotel's atmosphere and restaurant food will be forwarded to the relevant departments. We apologize for the bug situation in the room, and look forward to seeing you when you return to our beautiful city of Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I agree with Holsrme, this hotel is ok for an overnight.We stayed there twice.
The first day/night we got a room/suite at the 14th floor and the receptionist said us we will have a nice view to Nairobi.
We saw the view and we decided to stay at the hotel once the young lady that was waiting for us at the airport also doesn´t seem to get excited with our ideia of walking at Nairobi.
In fact she said we didn´t need to exchange money, we could have the meals at the hotel and stay there.
The second time we got a room at the 9th floor smaller but with the view to the front door that was better.
The rooms had two parts one with the TV another with the bed and bathroom with bath and not only shower, and I have not big things to say.
The things were not new but were in reasonable conditions.
About the buffet restaurant we didn´t got a very good ideia, nothing special but expensive and they said the credit card machine was not working what didn´t convince me. We try the restaurant at the bar that has things simple to cook and was better.
The breakfast was not anything special but we were in the habit of eat something in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask a room to the front side and not to the rear side or you can loose your ideia of walking alone i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Your observations about the buffet have been forwarded to management for action. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

dirty bathrooms and bathtubs. very old furniture and electronics. breakfast food ok, free wifi in lobby. Great location though. Close to city center. 5 min walk. I was staying in a suite but it feels like the worst hotel ever on my kenya trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was, as this is the only way we as a hotel can improve. Your observations about the bathrooms, bathtubs, furniture and electronic appliances have been duly noted and forwarded to the management for action. We hope his experience did not adversely affect your safari in Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed only one night before we left for Masai Mara. The beds were like boxes and really uncomfortable. We couldn't even sit on the couch because it was falling apart. The hotel really needs some updated furniture....since travelers are so exhausted from their flights, it would be a good idea to have somewhere comfortable to sit or lie down.

Excellent massage though and the breakfast buffet was good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Pam,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was. We apologize for the condition of couch and bed in the room. Your concerns have been forwarded to the management for action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Nairobi Safari Club for one day/night before our safari to the Masai Mara. It served a purpose. The bed was huge and comfortable. I had read on here about asking for rooms on an upper floor so I emailed the hotel a couple of weeks beforehand and they gave us a room near the top as well as next door to our friends as requested so full marks to reservataions. We didn't have any issues with the noise from the street but we kept the windows closed. We arrived at the hotel around 9.30am and just had a short wait for our rooms to be ready. As other reviewers said, the rooms are a good size but dated. The bathroom could do with a complete revamp and we didn't have a lock on our safe so had to use our friends - reception said they would look into it but nothing was done and we were leaving the next morning so didn't chase it up.
The hotel was close enough to get to the Sheldrake Elephant Orphanage that morning which is highly recommended but don't pay the airport price of over £60pp - we paid a third of that by negotiating with one of the reps at the airport (they all know someone who will do a deal). We were picked up just after 10.30am and were at the orphanage by 11.20am (it doesn't open until mid-day but with the Nairobi traffic you have to give yourself plenty of time and we were able to be right at the front to watch these wonderful animals).
We had lunch at the hotel in the Pizza & Grill bar which was very tasty (pizza was made to order) and reasonably priced. It was our first encounter with Tusker beer which is also nice and refreshing ! There was a private function on around the pool area so although it wasn't out of bounds we couldn't really use it. We had dinner in the restaurant, and on the night we stayed they had an Italian themed buffet which was good although we felt was quite expensive even by UK prices. They had a pianist playing which was nice too. Breakfast was buffet and there was a good choice.
As with all the places we visited in Kenya the staff were very friendly and helpful so couldn't fault them. We had a few drinks in the bar and had a laugh with the barmen - they had a great sense of humour. The lady who talked us through the safari etc was excellent (not sure if she worked for Pollmans but she was very knowlegable about our trip and gave us some good advice wrt where to buy things, money matters etc) and we felt quite safe in the hotel as they had security at the entrance scanning suitcases and checking bags. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst on safari and it was with Pollmans when we got to the airport.
As this was part of a package deal I don't know how much the hotel cost but would possibly stay again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as the hotel is on a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was. Your observations about the safe situation in your room, and how it was handled and the condition of the furniture, have been forwarded to the management team for action.

We are glad that you enjoyed the meals in particular the pizza, and the overall service of the staff members. We do hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed there for a short night between two flights. The area looks quite seedy, but as does most of central Nairobi anyway. The lobby looks quite nice, and the service there is efficient (with the exception of the cashier desk).

The issues come as you get in the room. As underlined by most posters, furniture and decor are way past their replacement time. The bathroom in particular looks as if it has not seen a paint brush in four or five decades. There is an Ethernet cable at the desk, but connexion tarriffs are ridiculously expensive, so cannot comment on Internet service. Bonus point though for the huge safe, which enables putting a whole camera bag inside (however, this can be interpreted as a sign that in-room theft are quite common...).

As I had to wake up at 4.30 to catch a flight, sleep quality was a key concern, but was hard to satisfy. There is a big highway right in front of the hotel, with continuous traffic, including from honking trucks at night, and the single-glazed (or so it seems) windows barely stop any of this noise, despite being on the 11th floor (earplugs, light sleeping pills and a pillow on the head were a must).

Restaurant at lobby level is nothing to write home about. The buffett looked unappealing and expensive, so had a la carte onion soup (quite pleasant) and crocodile medallions (too much sauce, but not bad otherwise). There is a live pianist, which adds some atmosphere to the otherwise uninspired room.

Room Tip: If you really want to sleep there, try to get a room as far from the road as posible (both in height...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Thomas,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at our hotel was. Your concerns about the facilities in particular: the room, restaurant and cashier's desk have been noted and forwarded to management for immediate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.