We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Faded elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

After a long flight and a bustling drive to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at the size of our suite. The once elegant furniture was a bit shabby, but still very nice. Our daughter, who paid for a single supplement, even had a small balcony off her living area. Despite our fatigue, we went out into the city and visited nearby City Market (high-pressure sales, but the only shopping time we had on the tour other than a few gift shop pit stops). We walked around the University of Nairobi, and the ultra-chic Norfolk Hotel. We bought some beers at a nearby market and enjoyed them on the pool deck at sunset. The pool area is gorgeous and a swim felt wonderful after the long journey. We had dinner in the main restaurant. The service was painfully slow, we waited an hour after ordering for our meal to come. However, the Indian-style food was excellent, probably the best food we had on the trip. Others in our group did not experience the slow service. The buffet breakfast in the morning was also quite nice.

Overall the facilities are very nice and comfortable, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quieter and have less diesel fumes. Some rooms have balconies, but most do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We apologize for the slow service you experienced, your concerns about the appearance of the furniture has been forwarded to the management team. Thank you for complementing our breakfast buffet, we always believe that the best way our guests can have a great day, is by having a good breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
26
53
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here one night before heading to Safari. Booked by tour operator and was dissapointed. Arrived late at night and left early in the orning but with a rash all over our bodies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We apologize for the rash, and hope this did not ruin your safari. Your complaint has been forwarded to the Housekeeping Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end. While an older hotel, the service was wonderful. There's also a handy shopping mall right behind it and Central Park is very close.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the service you experienced at the hotel. We will continue to ensure that this standard is maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I spent our first night in Kenya here as part of ET African Journeys.
The hotel is gorgeous. It was very clean and the staff were amazing@ Everyone was so nice!
We had been flying over 15 hours and when we finally arrived, we were exhausted. We went to have a fairly early dinner as we were needed to sleep, only to find the restaurant not yet open. Not a problem, The friendly staff took our orders anyway and brought our dinners poolside! What more could you ask for?
The fitness center and pool were very nice and clean. Staff here were also very helpful!
The wonderful breakfast was plentiful and delicious!
This was a great way to start our trip to Kenya!! THANK YOU!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much as well for your positive feedback, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future, and we assure you that our service standard will remain the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was with a group of 16 for the first night of a safari organized by Et African Journeys and Pollman tours. One night at the Nairobi Safari Club with breakfast included. The first night was the only night a meal was not included with our tour. We dined at the Sundeck Grill and Pizzeria on March 26th, 2012. Those who paid with credit cards all had their info stolen and 10s of thousands of dollars charged to our accounts before the end of our safari. The only place many of these cards were used was at this restaurant. It is positively 100% where this occured. Many remember a long delay in the return of our cards. Efforts to contact the Hotel and the Tour operators have not resulted in any return emails or apologies. This is also suspicious.

It is unfortunate as a spoiler for an otherwise good review of the hotel. Some maintenance issues in a couple of rooms that resulted in room changes. A nice comfortable hotel with large rooms, older style look but very nice. No complaints about the rooms, higher rooms preferred due to street noise and diesel fumes.
breakfast buffet was good and service was very good in every department with the exceptions of the thieves who stole our credit cards. At least 6 cards information was stolen from our group that we know of to date. I would appreciate hearing from the hotel on this issue. With 40% unemployment in Kenya I would suggest a few changes right away.
Rick

Room Tip: Chose higher floors to escape street noises and fumes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Rick,
We apologize for that, The sensitivity of the matter regarding your credit card information has been forwarded to our Security Department . You can contact the hotel on info@nairobisafariclub.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Usually when I am visiting Nairobi, I prefer this Hotel, despite it is a little pit expensive but you have a very good location, and a very big nice rooms, the hotel is old and gives you an impression of British colonies building , but everything in the room is working perfectly .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you very much. It is very encouraging for us when our guests let us know that they enjoyed staying at our hotel. We do hope that you will continue to use us whenever you are in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

An oldish place with a faded charm. very clean rooms and bathrooms en suite. super comfy beds and an excellent breakfast spread!!!! Very good for an overnight and breakfast stay !!! helpful staff. located quite close to the snake park and museum.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, we do pride ourselves on our Breakfast menu. As for the clean rooms, we will be sure to pass on the compliments to the Housekeeping Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.