We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Safari Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Bogor Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nairobi Safari Club claimed the only suite hotel in Nairobi. I think it is true for some reason. Because all rooms are seperated between living room and bed room. However the hotel has tired furniture. So it is a little bit uncomfortable to sit on sofa whenever you need to watch television.

Some staff are nice but some staff are not nice.

Hotel location is very nice in the town so you could walk around to supermarket or to some bars and atm.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
My I take this opportunity to apologize for those members of staff who may have not been sufficiently hospitable during your stay in the hotel. Despite this we hope that the location of the hotel in terms of convenience, is enough for you to consider staying in the hotel should you return to Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
27
53
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fourways, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The rooms are very comfortable but as the hotel is located on a busy road it is very noisy. Decent buffet dinner and breakfast, but wine list is severely lacking!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding you stay at the Nairobi Safari Club, your concerns about the level of noise and the wine list have been forwarded to the relevant departments . We hope this experience did not reflect negatively of the rest of your safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel is indeed quite old, it carries a distinct impression of a bygone era (whether this is intended or not, it works).

What made this hotel stand out, however, was the friendliness and service of the staff. They often were more than helpful. The second stand out was the quality of the food. From the sweetness of the local fruits to the standard of the a la carte menu.

Additionally, we held a meeting and presentation there and the attitude of the conference staff was flexible and detailed oriented.

If you're looking for a bit of old Nairobi, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you very much for appreciating the service that our staff provides, and our quality of food , we as the management staff always do our best to ensure that our guests are catered for adequately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asturias
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Overall a good place to stay, with ample suites although the housekeeping was not the best; one window did not close well, and some of the lamps did not work; the bulbs were not changed, but for the rest, everything was OK. The restaurant is good, although the buffet dinner is too expensive. But breakfast is fine, and there is also a drink bar and an informal restaurant and grill where you can eat pizzas and some local and indian dishes. The pool is also OK. The hotel is situated right in front of the university, by the rather busy University Way, and within walking distance (if you want to walk - we did) of Kenyatta Ave. and the business area.
The staff is very friendly and efficient. Through them we got in contact with Silverbird Safaris with whom we booked a private 5-day safari to Masai Mara and Lake Nakuru. The price was very reasonable for a private safari (only the 3 of us with the driver), we got good lodges for accommodation and the whole program ran flawlessly. The driver-guide, Simon, was quiet, friendly and professional; he drove rather safely and speaks decent spanish.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
On behalf of the entire hotel, I would like to apologize for the poor service provided by our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments respectively. Your observation regarding the buffet price has been forwarded to the relevant department. It is our hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The property is quite old and worn out. There is a distinct smell of the old times in the air and in the rooms. The rooms are spacious, like a small apartment, but some electric bubs are not changed, the TV is old, everything is old, old. One good thing - the staff is trying to compensate - they are very friendly and helpful. They even opened the breakfast buffet especially for our group of 13 people as early as 5AM, because we had an early flight (uslualy the breakfast starts at 7).

Room Tip: Try to ask for a renovated room if they have sme?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding the Nairobi Safari Club. Please be assured that your observations have been taken into consideration by the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

i was on a KQ flight which was cancelled and i ended up at the Hotel.The room though old was still spacious.The breakfast next morning was first class.The lady who was on nightshift on 14/06/2011 is a gem to the hotel!!Sheila ,i think is her name.She handled a huge number of furious and tired guests with calm.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Ngarua,
Thank you for your review. Thanks to your recommendation, and that of many other guests who were with you that evening, the Hotel Management did take notice of Sheila's good work, so much so that she was declared July's employee of the month. We do hope that if you are in Nairobi, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I came here for a conference, read TripAdvisor in advance and was expecting mediocrity or worse. I was pleasantly surprised.

My only real complaint - in common with many others on the site - was the noise from outside does indeed carry inside, even high up.

Otherwise, the room was decent - yes, the design is not 'post-modern chic', but some people would delight in its 'old world charm'; the suite was spacey and having a work- and entertainment-space separate from the bedroom is great (Nairobi's only all-suite hotel is their logo) and everything worked, the two usual suspects - showers and internet - were both excellent.

Food quality - and range of menu choice - was good. Service was friendly - sometimes a little slow, but didn't really fail - and the facilities (especially gym and pool) were more than adequate.

In conclusion, yes, i have seen better, but i can't really fault this place.

Room Tip: the higher the better (from a noise perspective)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Adam,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your accommodation experience was. We do apologize for the surrounding noise, due to the ongoing building and road construction, and can assure you that it is a temporary situation. The Hotel Management is working with the local authorities to ensure the maximum comfort of our guests especially in the evening. As for the slow service, the issue has been forwarded to the relevant head of department, and will be dealt with accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.