We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny and nice museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Uhuru rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Budva, Montenegro
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Funny and nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This museum is one of place in Nairoby which you have to see! It is interesting for people who are interesting for raiways history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RELI - railway in swahili”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Railway museum with my uncle, sister and two friends.
I found it interesting learning about the history, former presidents in East-Africa and working conditions for those who where building the railway line.

We went inside the old trains, and took pictures of the old equiments, chairs and so on.
For those who like learning about history and/or like trains this is the place for you!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peninah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful half day trip for kids in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hidden away at the edge of Nairobi city centre, the railway museum is a must for anyone with kids for a few hours. The museum is a little on the tired side but the trains themselves are a great source of adventure and curiosity for the kids. bring your own snacks and drinks but be prepared to get up and down and into and out of the trains... Great fun

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memories of the Ghost & The Darkness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

With the Ghost and the Darkness being one of my favorite Hollywood movies, we just had to go and see what really happened - and of course ask to hold the actual claw of one of the lions! This was our first time here, and I was very pleasantly surprised, it was both fun and educational.
The guide at the museum was very knowledgeable and gave us a good overview of the history of the railroad. The exhibits were fun to see, and it was a truly an awesome experience to sit in the same railcar where Charles Ryall was hauled away by one of the lions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LyndaS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“choo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Well, all the trains in a poor state of repiar, more of a train grave yard than a museum. Could of had plaques with the trains service history. The indoor exhibit were well laid out, with little nuggets of information everywhere you look. This museum could be so much more!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charleigh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing