We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Uhuru rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I may be biased, as I have a family connection to Kenyan Railways, but if you are interested in steam and the development of railways, this is for you. Lots to see. And fun. It is trough a seedy bit of town, so take a cab, and get them to wait. It's worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    36
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great for railroad buffs....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a pretty gritty museum located off the beaten path in Nairobi. It has a few interesting displays (the "Out of Africa" loco, the touring seat of Teddy Roosevelt), but this is really only a museum for a railroad enthusiast. Others my find it boring.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Steam Locomotive Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This railway museum, hidden away in the back streets of downtown Nairobi is hard to find, but if you have a passion for steam engines it is a MUST. If you have a driver to take you there you can be dropped off at the entrance to the "booking hall". If not then it is a bit of a trudge along an unmade track off Haille Salassie main road. Look for the turn at the Post Office. Slumbering on the overgrown siding tracks are several locomotives, ranging from a small tender engine to huge Garret monsters specially designed to haul loads of freight for the East African Railway from the coast of Kenya to Uganda. The great pleasure here is that you can clamber over any of the engines, admiring the design and engineering, without let or hindrance. No health and safety warnings, no guides to admonish, just an opportunity to indulge your fantasy of being an engine driver.Be as quick or as long as you like, nobody will interfere, although you may find a sleeping member of staff in one of the 1st Class carriages on display! You will be greeted with friendly smile.
The exhibition of railway memorabilia requires close attention and a bit of hard work to get to grips with all that is on offer. But again you have time and freedom to wander, so it pays to look closely at what is on offer. My absolute favorite exhibit is of a marvellous throne like wooden contraption that was strapped to the front of an engine permitting those seated on it to have a totally unobstructed view of Kenya as the train traversed the landscape. There is a photograph of Edward Prince of Wales in 1928, enjoying this unique experience. NB at the Karen Blixen Museum there is a copy of the menu of the Dinner she served him during the same tour.
Cold drnks may be bought but there is no food served

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Rundown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I thought I'd pay this place a visit after hearing about it from a buddy. I took to the road hunting for seeing the road sign that will direct me there. It was quite a chance to see that sign because it is really hidden and with small fonts. It directs to a very small street that branches off a major road. Besides, Kenya Railways have done a fantastic job of keeping it away from the public since I have never heard it being advertised.

That said, I found a couple of two guys (employees of the museum) arguing over two pieces of oil paint, as to which is the better. That was on the craft section, where the pieces were good indeed but the prices not so. They guided me to the main entrance of the museum itself.

Bored was the look on the receptionist lady. I don't think I had the same look when many of my childhood memories were rekindled by my walk around the museum. The pieces are really antique and haphazardly organized, without sections. You will find crockery pieces put together with typewriters but all well.

I expected the trains to be at least kept clean and at least restored even though they don't move. The toilets looked like they had just been used and no one bothered to pick up after themselves. I expected a bare minimum of working doors and general cleanliness.

After an hour and a half of making myself happy, I went back to the receptionist with a few questions I had but she could not answer any satisfactorily. I bet they just picked someone who needed a job but did not care to learn something, anything, about her workplace.

What did I enjoy about my visit? The childhood memories. Having a chance to hop into the train drivers' seats. Having a chance to peep into a cabin that The Man-eaters of Tsavo hitched a ride on.

Other than that, Kenya Railways have let this place get really dilapidated. I hope they clean up the place and advertise it a bit more.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Trains what a hobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

this little museum is a jewel in the crown....lots of rolling stock including about 10 or so locomotives that were the backbone of Kenyan railroading only a few short years ago. The building houses many odd and fascinating pieces of railroading history..one could spend all day here and still not see it all....its a must for anyone with a mechanical bent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.