We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains what a hobby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Uhuru rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
at sea
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Trains what a hobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

this little museum is a jewel in the crown....lots of rolling stock including about 10 or so locomotives that were the backbone of Kenyan railroading only a few short years ago. The building houses many odd and fascinating pieces of railroading history..one could spend all day here and still not see it all....its a must for anyone with a mechanical bent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great exposure to Kenya's railway history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Railway Museum in Nairobi has been renovated recently and it is much better than before. It's a little bit shabby around the edges, but provides a very good overview of Kenya's railway history. I recommend this for all tourists and Kenyans alike. Go in the early morning or late afternoon to avoid the heat and downtown traffic.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If one were a real trains buff, perhaps this "museum" would have been more interesting than it was to me. Other than a large and unorganized room full of materials and photographs, the museum consists of a number of train cars and engines sitting outside in the weather, slowly -- perhaps not so slowly --rusting away. Other than what one can deduce from reading the "signs" on the equipment itself (such as "manufactured in 19 __ at ___), there was no museum signage to assist in understanding where and when the equipment was used. Not recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sleeping giants....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am not in to railways particularly but this place intrigued me so I took a taxi there with my 4 year old daughter. We were almost alone at the museum. There is a guided tour around the museum but I declined as my daughters attention span wouldnt permit it.Instead I had a quick whizz around this bit and then went to where all the trains were parked up. They were incredible,where in the uk could you climb over these sleeping giants,stand on the footplate and play with the controls without the health and safety nazis spoiling the fun ? Although they are slowly decaying they still hold your interest and to my daughter this was a wonderful adventure park. Its well worth a visit,bring water and some food,as there is none available and have a pic-nic in the shadow of the carriage that the man-eating Tsavo lions dragged a victim from in the peace and quiet of this gem of a museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

There are a lot of interesting 1 meter gauge locomotives here. Well worth an hour or two.They have the engine from Out of Africa!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.