We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Uhuru rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Northern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If one were a real trains buff, perhaps this "museum" would have been more interesting than it was to me. Other than a large and unorganized room full of materials and photographs, the museum consists of a number of train cars and engines sitting outside in the weather, slowly -- perhaps not so slowly --rusting away. Other than what one can deduce from reading the "signs" on the equipment itself (such as "manufactured in 19 __ at ___), there was no museum signage to assist in understanding where and when the equipment was used. Not recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sleeping giants....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am not in to railways particularly but this place intrigued me so I took a taxi there with my 4 year old daughter. We were almost alone at the museum. There is a guided tour around the museum but I declined as my daughters attention span wouldnt permit it.Instead I had a quick whizz around this bit and then went to where all the trains were parked up. They were incredible,where in the uk could you climb over these sleeping giants,stand on the footplate and play with the controls without the health and safety nazis spoiling the fun ? Although they are slowly decaying they still hold your interest and to my daughter this was a wonderful adventure park. Its well worth a visit,bring water and some food,as there is none available and have a pic-nic in the shadow of the carriage that the man-eating Tsavo lions dragged a victim from in the peace and quiet of this gem of a museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

There are a lot of interesting 1 meter gauge locomotives here. Well worth an hour or two.They have the engine from Out of Africa!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The railway museum is fabulous, a little but tatty but so evocative of the colonial past when railways dominated East Africa. Lots of memorabilia like the original dining services for EAR in the museum itself plus the historic trains on the tracks outside. Don't be put off by the downtown location, it is easy to access and there is safe parking. But don't enter through the taxi park at the railway station, drive a bit further down Haile Selassie Ave and take the first turn left at the Post Office

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Glad I went to the Railway Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The first week of December I wanted to check out some of the museums in Nairobi and so glad I included the Railway Museum. Lot of interesting displays inside and nice captions in English to give an overview of how the railway helped in the settlement of Kenya. Not crowded at all and nicely laid out for easy viewing. There was also some interesting displays on how water navigation played a role in the early transportation of Kenya. A nice little arty gift shop was also on site and there were some nice stone carvings for sale.
Outside it was easy to wander around and even go into some of the rail cars.
I would for sure include a visit to the Railway Museum if you have the time.

Jim from Minnesota

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Railway Museum to your Saves list