We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping giants....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Uhuru rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sleeping giants....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am not in to railways particularly but this place intrigued me so I took a taxi there with my 4 year old daughter. We were almost alone at the museum. There is a guided tour around the museum but I declined as my daughters attention span wouldnt permit it.Instead I had a quick whizz around this bit and then went to where all the trains were parked up. They were incredible,where in the uk could you climb over these sleeping giants,stand on the footplate and play with the controls without the health and safety nazis spoiling the fun ? Although they are slowly decaying they still hold your interest and to my daughter this was a wonderful adventure park. Its well worth a visit,bring water and some food,as there is none available and have a pic-nic in the shadow of the carriage that the man-eating Tsavo lions dragged a victim from in the peace and quiet of this gem of a museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

There are a lot of interesting 1 meter gauge locomotives here. Well worth an hour or two.They have the engine from Out of Africa!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The railway museum is fabulous, a little but tatty but so evocative of the colonial past when railways dominated East Africa. Lots of memorabilia like the original dining services for EAR in the museum itself plus the historic trains on the tracks outside. Don't be put off by the downtown location, it is easy to access and there is safe parking. But don't enter through the taxi park at the railway station, drive a bit further down Haile Selassie Ave and take the first turn left at the Post Office

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callaway, Minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Glad I went to the Railway Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The first week of December I wanted to check out some of the museums in Nairobi and so glad I included the Railway Museum. Lot of interesting displays inside and nice captions in English to give an overview of how the railway helped in the settlement of Kenya. Not crowded at all and nicely laid out for easy viewing. There was also some interesting displays on how water navigation played a role in the early transportation of Kenya. A nice little arty gift shop was also on site and there were some nice stone carvings for sale.
Outside it was easy to wander around and even go into some of the rail cars.
I would for sure include a visit to the Railway Museum if you have the time.

Jim from Minnesota

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofn, Iceland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A true slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Few expereiences in Africa can match that of the Railway Museum in Nairobi, even if railways are not your thing.
Kenya the country and Nairbi the city exist because of the railway. There are photos showing the first few days of Nairobi's existence: a railway, horses grazing and a motely collection of white tents scattered across a grassy plain.
Contrary to what a few reviewers have said, most of the museum is inside, a massive jumble of photographs, objects and stories of the past. Many of the items have a unique tale to tell; nothing major but plenty of dusty, fading memories being heard down the years.
One particularly moving story, and nothing at all to do with the railways, is the detailed story of how Queen Elizabeth heard the sad news that her father had died in 1952. It's not quite the story that many of us knew from our childhood.
All kinds of railway memorabilia is jammed into the building: just take your time exploring.
Outside a huge collection of old railway engines and carriages disappears into the distance. It is remarkably difficult to tell which railway carriages are in the museum and which are just sitting in the sidings alongside! The trpical heat and rain takes its toll quickly. Perhaps the most famous is Carriage #12 from which a British superintendednt was dragged by the man-eating lion of Tsavo.
Alongside the Railway Museum is a small and very pleasant art gallery, unadvertised, but with many good paintings. It's free, so do spend an extra 10 minutes there too! :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.