We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dad's day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Museum

Railway Museum
Uhuru rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dad's day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

my first time i visited this place was 9 years ago after my class eight. my dad took being the first born child and i had done my KCPE he was very happy. I loved having seen the different classes of train the oldest that was in the museum and the new ones that were now being used.

i loved the adventure so much. Thank you to all that are concerned i matters of administration and everything else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This small, out of the way museum was a lot of fun. Great for kids who may clamber over old engines and cars. Great story about building the railway and man eating lions!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“the place is clean welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

hospitality of staffs, visiting the museum reminds me of old days where i was no born this give me an opportunity to learn how our grandparents did good work, the government also tried to preserve and conserve this heritage for future.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap as chips, but well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place is barely hanging on in museum terms. It is tiny, just over one floor. I think the girl on the door was also the janitor and curator! But it is truly fascinating and what is packed into the small space is amazing, with everything from the pioneers of the railways in Kenya - from the man eating lion truck to the massive steam engines now sadly rusting away in the yard outside. The cabinets were carefully labelled by some enthusiast years ago and it is all quite informing if a little sad that no-one seems to care for this part of Kenyan history any more (perhaps because one can't escape from the fact that it was the Brits, mainly the Scots, built it all, and the death toll amongst the local navvies was horrendous, no thanks to man eating lions and mosquitos). You can sit on the very seat the Prince of Wales sat on when he visited too, ask the friendly staff to take a photo. A quirky but affecting place that will leave an impression. A great idea is to combine seeing this with a trip on the train to Mombasa later. Get to the station early and get your first class overnight ticket with dinner, then see the museum whilst you're waiting for the train to leave (at 7pm). You'll see your travel in a much different light when you know how the track was built.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“NEGLECTED GEM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Rather out of the way, near the Nairobi train terminus. Well laid out, with nice historical displays. Railway buffs should not miss.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Railway Museum to your Saves list