We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful Dance of Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bomas of Kenya

Bomas of Kenya
Langata Rd | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Performances, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Each boma (homestead) in this cultural village was built using traditional specifications of myriad Kenyan tribes; through architecture, crafts, music and dance this village serves to preserve Kenyan culture.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Colourful Dance of Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A must for the traveller who likes to enjoy the culture of the place. Wildlife surely is the reason people travel to Kenya but missing the dances would be missing a big part of this cheerful country. And then the 'Acrobat' performing. A must see.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    61
    25
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is awkward”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The dancers at Bomas of Kenya look as though they don't want to be present. Everyone looked sad. Considering how empty it was and that it only cost about 7.5USD, the abusive pay is probably the issue. The dancers kept messing up and had no energy. The shop there was a bunch of crap. None of it has hand made and it was expensive. I do not recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

it's one of the most enjoyable place around Nairobi. The tour there can be divided into two main attractions: the traditional dances and the tribal villages.
the traditional shows starts at 2:30 on weekdays and 3:30 on weekends. my advice it to start your visit by the shows , Reach bomas 10 minutes before the shows and buy your tickets for 600 KSH (non-resident). during the shows, they offer you a notebook for 200 ksh which describe the different tribal villages and some useful information about the various tribes and houses u r going to during ur visit. so start with the dances , get the book, go around the villages.
there is also a restaurant where u can enjoy a hot meals , snacks and drinks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view...low doors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I enjoyed the view at Bomas of Kenya, with the historical background given by my guides on the lifestyle of the ancient Kenyans from different tribes. Obama's tribe is also represented in one of the settlements built. My observation is all the doors are way too low, and I wonder why they ever built their doors low! Tip: You'd enjoy it best if you go in the evening.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have driven past the Bomas of Kenya many times, but this week-end my family and I finally paid a visit. Make sure you time your visit to see the traditional dance and song performance which was very impressive. Equally impressive was the main auditorium which was an architectural marvel made from wood. We didn’t see all the villages since my son was anxious to return to the playground, but our short walk was tranquil and informative. Overall, it’s a nice visit after a good lunch at one of the many good restaurants in Karen.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomas of Kenya also viewed

 

Been to Bomas of Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bomas of Kenya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;