We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bomas of Kenya

Bomas of Kenya
Langata Rd | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Performances, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each boma (homestead) in this cultural village was built using traditional specifications of myriad Kenyan tribes; through architecture, crafts, music and dance this village serves to preserve Kenyan culture.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just love the place especially the newly opened wing. It's one of the architectural centre piece in Nairobi. Much more, the management has done a lot to ensure the standards meets the investment. Thought quite expensive, the services were excellent and meals were delicious. I was there just after elections and we managed a good rate, guess because business was low. It is worthy trying.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    65
    29
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been to the Bomas of Kenya several times and thoroughly enjoy the cultural show which showcases the dances, songs and music of many of the different tribal groups in Kenya. The show runs for a couple of hours but it is worth it especially if they end with their acrobatics. I can't remember whether they do that at every show but we saw it at the weekday show in September. Then one can walk around to view the bomas (homesteads) of the different tribes seeing what materials they use, depending on the region and their lifestyle. You have to run the gauntlet of a number of curio shops after leaving the bomas!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A really good way to see how all the different tribes build their villages! Tribal dancing was excellent, shame so few were in the auditorium to see them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant cultural experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After experiencing the bush and seeing lots of animals in the countryside, going to Boma in Nairobi at the end of our trip rounded out the Kenya experience. We enjoyed watching the dancers, seeing all the different costumes and listening to the drumming. The dancers were amateurish not dancing terribly in unison nor exhibiting the same energy level, (I am somewhat jaded since I live in NYC) but I enjoyed the experience anyway. What was also fun was watching all the different school children in the audience who had taken class trips there and seeing how they experienced the dance. They were quite well behaved.

Be aware that the show starts exactly on time and if you do not leave enough time to drive there you will be late. For us what should have been a 20 minute drive, became an hours drive. The traffic in Nairobi is ongoing and doesn't seem to let up. Fortunately, we had a driver/guide take us there and so we were able to relax in the back seat of the car.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great Cultural show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been there. Thoroughly enjoyed the show with sounds of African drum & dances of different tribes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bomas of Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bomas of Kenya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.