We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find, well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bomas of Kenya

Bomas of Kenya
Langata Rd | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0724288044
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$200*
and up
Nairobi Highlights City Tour Including Giraffe...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Each boma (homestead) in this cultural village was built using traditional specifications of myriad Kenyan tribes; through architecture, crafts, music and dance this village serves to preserve Kenyan culture.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A surprising find, well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a cool place. When I went there were hardly any other visitors there, and I could quietly walk between all the little villages, and pop into all the huts.

The bonus was the daily dance performance starting around 2 (I think). I arrived just in time and saw some amazing displays of "traditional" African dance.

Just go. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsa_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Took my mother on her birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Bomas of Kenya is a lovely place to go, for foriegners and locals, from all walks of life. It is also a fabulous place to go with family member of all ages. The only thing that is regrettable at time is the delapitated houses that are damaged by rain, and also at times the lacklaster behaviour of the guides. However the traditional dances are great! They are performed at the auditorium which itself is a marvelous work of art. Anyone going out of genuine interest of cultures and music should go, but do not expect a friendly or helpful service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nyawira_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

There was a good variety of ethnic dances from different parts of Kenya. The acrobats were excellent. The venue was airy and comfortable. My friend and I enjoyed our visit there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must See for Cultural History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

See how East Africa was before colonization. Must see for any visit to Nairobi - not just the dances, but the village recreations scattered throughout the property.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A cultural microcosm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Bomas provides a cultural microcosm on the habitats and dances of the various tribes of people that form a part of Kenya.

The dance performances are scheduled in the afternoons and last about an hour. One can arrive an hour early and spend time visiting the different dwellings that are located withing this place.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomas of Kenya also viewed

 

Been to Bomas of Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing