We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took my mother on her birthday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bomas of Kenya

Bomas of Kenya
Langata Rd | Mageso Chember, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Performances, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Each boma (homestead) in this cultural village was built using traditional specifications of myriad Kenyan tribes; through architecture, crafts, music and dance this village serves to preserve Kenyan culture.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Took my mother on her birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Bomas of Kenya is a lovely place to go, for foriegners and locals, from all walks of life. It is also a fabulous place to go with family member of all ages. The only thing that is regrettable at time is the delapitated houses that are damaged by rain, and also at times the lacklaster behaviour of the guides. However the traditional dances are great! They are performed at the auditorium which itself is a marvelous work of art. Anyone going out of genuine interest of cultures and music should go, but do not expect a friendly or helpful service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    60
    25
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

There was a good variety of ethnic dances from different parts of Kenya. The acrobats were excellent. The venue was airy and comfortable. My friend and I enjoyed our visit there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Must See for Cultural History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

See how East Africa was before colonization. Must see for any visit to Nairobi - not just the dances, but the village recreations scattered throughout the property.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A cultural microcosm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Bomas provides a cultural microcosm on the habitats and dances of the various tribes of people that form a part of Kenya.

The dance performances are scheduled in the afternoons and last about an hour. One can arrive an hour early and spend time visiting the different dwellings that are located withing this place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun for an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love anything to do with traditional music,dance, or costumes and I purposely seek out entertainment like this when I travel. I knew I'd like this attraction after reading the reviews and I truly did enjoy the performance. It was more professional than I had expected. I thought the entrance fee was reasonable also. There was only one thing that I did not like. I did not like the craft market on the grounds. I thought the vendors were rather aggressive. I think it would be more professional to have an actual shop near the performance hall. The bomas started looking the same to me after about the 3rd village. But I must say that the exhibits were put together well and it was a rather nice walk between the villages. Go to this attraction if you can spare an afternoon in Nairobi.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomas of Kenya also viewed

 

Been to Bomas of Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bomas of Kenya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.