We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Duma Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
020-8070804
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #2 of 78 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Kakamega, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“so much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

Sure, I've seen giraffes in pictures, but these guys were just wandering around doing their thing in real life! Was cool to be able to feed them, although bring some hand towels to wipe the slober off afterwards ;-D We even managed to see some of them mating... hahaha

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    529
    214
    42
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW via mobile

It is a breath taking experience as you come very close to the giraffes and are able to feed it. The giraffes are very friendly and are trained to eat from people's hands. My kids were scared a bit from how big the giraffes are (compared to their size). They have a souvenir shop, but didn't have anything that you wouldn't find in the Masai markets. They Don't have a souvenir to remind you of the place.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Favorite part of my Cape Town to Kenya Journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

I can't explain how amazing it was to feed, cuddle and get KISSED by a giraffe (Ed was on fire...he's the giraffe who kissed/licked me ;) ) It's 1,000 Kenyan Schillings to get in (about US$12) and worth every penny. The staff is AMAAAAZING (thanks to Judy and Godfrey for all the excellent info and the laughs). It was a quiet time so we got a lot of one-on-one time. There are about four giraffes and it all depends on who is in the mood to visit the feeding area. These giraffes are well-cared for and not forced to do anything. It's refreshing to see. Yes, it's small but expensive?? NOT AT ALL. The reviewer who rated this place as pricey obviously didn't pay the outrageous prices we did in the rest of Nairobi. I would have paid triple that for the experience I got to have with the giraffes. We ate lunch there and it was delicious and cheap. All-in-all an experience I will never, ever forget. Thank you for my favourite experience out of all three months in Africa!!!

Just a tip - try to get there early as the Elephant Orphanage/Giraffee Centre tour stops at the orphanage FIRST. That means they'll arrive at the centre around 11 am or so and then it gets a bit crowded. I'd visit on separate days just to get the personal experience (no lines, no rushing, no screaming kids) with the giraffes. The tour arrived after we had our visit and there were about 13 people and screaming kids trying to get Ed to notice them. So again, get there when it opens and you'll be grand! ENJOY and give Ed a kiss for me ;)

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Nice for the Kids!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 NEW

Giraffe Centre is a wonderful stop - your kids will love it ... and, you actually get to feed the giraffes and take pictures.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get to feed giraffes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 NEW

A must do specially if you have kids. You actually get to feed the giraffes with your own hands. There is also a small souvenir shop on site and a little cafe where you can get drinks.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.