We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Centre

Giraffe Centre
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
723441764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A short self-guided forest hike followed by an up-close encounter with tame giraffes make this a pleasant excursion to the south of central Nairobi.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

You can get really close to these beautiful animals with a plentiful supply of pellets to feed them. Awesome experience, do not miss!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    429
    175
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place is well worth the visit, it is well run it has facilities but most of all you get so close to the giraffes. You are allowed to feed them great inter action with them very pleased with the visit. As part of the visit a your guide brought us around the nature trail also attached to the park, I was impressed with her knowledge and the interest she had. Go visit its worth it 1000KS anf if you have a driver with you he is free . Our driver hadn't been before and was well pleased with the visit.

Enjoy

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Misleading Attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Disappointed. This place was billed as "a park where you can see giraffes, feed and see different types of giraffe." On arrival, I paid the 1000 shilling entrance fee only to find that it is not a park, its just a platform (very crowded one) where you can maybe feed a giraffe. I saw ONE giraffe which kept wandering away.There is nothing else to do there. You cannot access anything except the platform. There is a trail but it doesnt have access to any giraffes just trees.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This centre, established to protect the endangered Rothschild giraffe, is wonderful. The giraffes are close enough to feed and touch; educators are there to offer more insight; nature trails to walk among other animals. We all loved it, and it is worth doing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Learning about giraffes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I saw giraffe's bones for my first time in my life. Beside of interacting with giraffes, this place is excellent to learn about giraffes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.