We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giraffes up close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Centre

Giraffe Centre
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A short self-guided forest hike followed by an up-close encounter with tame giraffes make this a pleasant excursion to the south of central Nairobi.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Giraffes up close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visit Giraffe centre every so often to help our kids experience and enjoy wildlife. The love it! It's good for Sunday outings after lunch. You get to feed the giraffes which is mind blowing for the kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    399
    164
    36
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Get up close to a giraffe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great place for children and adults. You get to feed a giraffe by hand and watch others who roam the grounds. If you have never had an opportunity to do this it is a treat. This gentle giants are amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Giraffe's but alot of money for little.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really enjoyed seeing the Giraffe's, one came close so I could feed her and touch her. There is a balcony which means you can be at the height of the animals which is fantastic. However even though we payed student price, I would say it was alot for a very short trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One hour visit at most”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The place is very small and one hour visit is enough. It does get you very close to giraffe though. You can feed the giraffe and touch its tongue. Some tourists really enjoyed kissing the giraffe by feeding with their tongues... We just could not do it. But if you can, it could be a lot of fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Limited wildlife, but memorable and incomparable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

In no other place can one get eye-level with a giraffe, pet one, feed one, even get a kiss... ok, it's more like being licked by a wet Samsonite bag. Giraffes were rescued in the wild and undergo rehabilitation here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Centre to your Saves list