We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Duma Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
020-8070804
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #3 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Nature & Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Nanyuki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Love giraffes? This is the place for you. So nice to see them face to face. My grandkids loved being able to feed them after they saw them in the wild. Helpful staff too.p

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    495
    203
    40
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Give it 20 minutes, tops.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Yes, you get to feed a giraffe. Yes, that's pretty amazing. Yes, you will have a photo to show your friends. That's about it. Take it up a notch, please. There are the wonderful giraffes, a pretty lame exhibit about giraffes and a gift shop - and sometimes a man making balloon animals in the small garden. It's a unique place and you should go, but don't plan to make a day of it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Though it sounds cheesy to want to get kissed by a giraffe, you really should do it! The Centre is doing good work with the giraffes and it offers interesting information about the species. And then you get to stand on a raised viewing center and be face to face with these wonderful, gentle creatures. You will be given food pellets that entice the giraffes to eat out of your hand. Just being so close and getting to touch them is worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After an hugely entertaining and informative visit to the Elephant Orphanage in Nairobi, the Giraffe Center was a disappointment. Relatively expensive entrance fee- but the information area was very limited and dated. We could touch the impressive giraffes and there was lots of food "treats" provided for us to feed the giraffes?! Good photo opportunity but overall an underwhelming center. Allow an hour at the most.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was excited when we set off for the giraffe Centre; having heard a lot about it and it was next on our itinerary;after the national park. It was however not quite up to expectations, we paid the entrance fee and went in; expecting at least a walk round the facility, if not a guided tour!
Instead we were directed to a balcony next to an enclosure containing a lone giraffe. As soon as we stepped into the balcony the lady gave each of us a handful of nuts/giraffe food and showed us how to feed it to the giraffe; one at a time. We did that, took pictures, and THAT was it! After spending 2 hours in Nairobi traffic jam to get there; with another 2hrs drive back waiting for us! And a hired cab driver on standby that had cost us 7000ksh(about $90) for the trip. We had paid 1000ksh gate fee, so had invested abt $100 dollars and 4 hrs. sitting in a traffic jam just to feed one giraffe! Fun...yes, but at what price?.....really not worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.