We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Centre

Giraffe Centre
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A short self-guided forest hike followed by an up-close encounter with tame giraffes make this a pleasant excursion to the south of central Nairobi.
Estacada, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Though it sounds cheesy to want to get kissed by a giraffe, you really should do it! The Centre is doing good work with the giraffes and it offers interesting information about the species. And then you get to stand on a raised viewing center and be face to face with these wonderful, gentle creatures. You will be given food pellets that entice the giraffes to eat out of your hand. Just being so close and getting to touch them is worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    398
    164
    35
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After an hugely entertaining and informative visit to the Elephant Orphanage in Nairobi, the Giraffe Center was a disappointment. Relatively expensive entrance fee- but the information area was very limited and dated. We could touch the impressive giraffes and there was lots of food "treats" provided for us to feed the giraffes?! Good photo opportunity but overall an underwhelming center. Allow an hour at the most.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was excited when we set off for the giraffe Centre; having heard a lot about it and it was next on our itinerary;after the national park. It was however not quite up to expectations, we paid the entrance fee and went in; expecting at least a walk round the facility, if not a guided tour!
Instead we were directed to a balcony next to an enclosure containing a lone giraffe. As soon as we stepped into the balcony the lady gave each of us a handful of nuts/giraffe food and showed us how to feed it to the giraffe; one at a time. We did that, took pictures, and THAT was it! After spending 2 hours in Nairobi traffic jam to get there; with another 2hrs drive back waiting for us! And a hired cab driver on standby that had cost us 7000ksh(about $90) for the trip. We had paid 1000ksh gate fee, so had invested abt $100 dollars and 4 hrs. sitting in a traffic jam just to feed one giraffe! Fun...yes, but at what price?.....really not worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Sort of plain venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The giraffe centre is nothing extensive at all. I was kinda of cramped for time on a mid-Sunday afternoon and it took no time to get through the smallish centre grounds. I did notice the Giraffe Manor Inn which looked quite nice and the TA reviews are very positive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Visit with the Giants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A brilliant little place to visit with the giants of the animal world, the Giraffe's! You get to feed them and if you're brave enough get a kiss of sorts ;-) Fantastic place to take the kids!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Centre to your Saves list