We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing attraction” 2 of 5 stars
Review of African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre

African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Duma Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
020-8070804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After an hugely entertaining and informative visit to the Elephant Orphanage in Nairobi, the Giraffe Center was a disappointment. Relatively expensive entrance fee- but the information area was very limited and dated. We could touch the impressive giraffes and there was lots of food "treats" provided for us to feed the giraffes?! Good photo opportunity but overall an underwhelming center. Allow an hour at the most.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    430
    176
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was excited when we set off for the giraffe Centre; having heard a lot about it and it was next on our itinerary;after the national park. It was however not quite up to expectations, we paid the entrance fee and went in; expecting at least a walk round the facility, if not a guided tour!
Instead we were directed to a balcony next to an enclosure containing a lone giraffe. As soon as we stepped into the balcony the lady gave each of us a handful of nuts/giraffe food and showed us how to feed it to the giraffe; one at a time. We did that, took pictures, and THAT was it! After spending 2 hours in Nairobi traffic jam to get there; with another 2hrs drive back waiting for us! And a hired cab driver on standby that had cost us 7000ksh(about $90) for the trip. We had paid 1000ksh gate fee, so had invested abt $100 dollars and 4 hrs. sitting in a traffic jam just to feed one giraffe! Fun...yes, but at what price?.....really not worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Sort of plain venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The giraffe centre is nothing extensive at all. I was kinda of cramped for time on a mid-Sunday afternoon and it took no time to get through the smallish centre grounds. I did notice the Giraffe Manor Inn which looked quite nice and the TA reviews are very positive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visit with the Giants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A brilliant little place to visit with the giants of the animal world, the Giraffe's! You get to feed them and if you're brave enough get a kiss of sorts ;-) Fantastic place to take the kids!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
549 reviews 549 reviews
250 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Amazing to get so up close and personal with these magnificent creatures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Typically the next stop on the Nairobi tourism circuit after visiting the elephant orphanage, this center is a bit more expensive to visit (1000ksh for foreigners) but lets you get right up close to giraffes to feed them treats and even get a kiss! (Don't worry, their tongues are antiseptic). A short presentation teaches you about these amazing animals. There's not much else to do here, but I literally spent 1.5hrs doing nothing but marveling at these giant animals up close while feeding.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.