We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cause, but pricey” 2 of 5 stars
Review of African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre

African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Duma Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
020-8070804
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction Details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good cause, but pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

a good centre and a good experience to feed giraffe. But prices have increased again, making them one of the more expensive centres to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    445
    184
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“So that's what a giraffe feels like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent experience. Their tongues are purple. The ears are bone. The neck feels like a horse. Reasonable cost and a good time. Nice gift store.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely animals and a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely Worth a visit.
The animals are really beautiful and you can get real Close to them. The staff is also very friendly. We went there before lunch, and was some of few visitors at that time. So we got really good service.
You can feed the giraffes With Your mouth. A fun and wet experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“French kissing a long necked girl in a place called Karen, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an excellent part of the conservation effort for the Rothschild Giraffe. The centre has a number of breeding mothers and releases their offspring into the wild eventually. It also has entertaining warthogs. You can stand in a tall house and the giraffes come to see you if they'd like to. You get to feed them. I was encourage to hold some food pellets in my mouth so that the giraffe would come and take it from me. The staff are excellent, highly knowledgeable and informative. We got some great photos of a mother and two week old baby giraffe!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“The Manor spoiled me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If we weren't hanging out at the Giraffe Manor earlier, I would probably have thought that the Giraffe Center was the coolest thing ever. However, compared to the Manor, I found it very crowded and annoying. Perhaps it was just the tourists who were there jostling one another to feed the giraffes. There was definitely some good information about giraffes and I learned a bit but it's a bit too touristy for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.