We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Duma Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
020-8070804
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$193*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #2 of 86 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good cause, but pricey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

a good centre and a good experience to feed giraffe. But prices have increased again, making them one of the more expensive centres to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    559
    220
    47
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“So that's what a giraffe feels like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent experience. Their tongues are purple. The ears are bone. The neck feels like a horse. Reasonable cost and a good time. Nice gift store.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely animals and a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely Worth a visit.
The animals are really beautiful and you can get real Close to them. The staff is also very friendly. We went there before lunch, and was some of few visitors at that time. So we got really good service.
You can feed the giraffes With Your mouth. A fun and wet experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“French kissing a long necked girl in a place called Karen, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an excellent part of the conservation effort for the Rothschild Giraffe. The centre has a number of breeding mothers and releases their offspring into the wild eventually. It also has entertaining warthogs. You can stand in a tall house and the giraffes come to see you if they'd like to. You get to feed them. I was encourage to hold some food pellets in my mouth so that the giraffe would come and take it from me. The staff are excellent, highly knowledgeable and informative. We got some great photos of a mother and two week old baby giraffe!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“The Manor spoiled me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If we weren't hanging out at the Giraffe Manor earlier, I would probably have thought that the Giraffe Center was the coolest thing ever. However, compared to the Manor, I found it very crowded and annoying. Perhaps it was just the tourists who were there jostling one another to feed the giraffes. There was definitely some good information about giraffes and I learned a bit but it's a bit too touristy for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.