We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely animals and a great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Centre

Giraffe Centre
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A short self-guided forest hike followed by an up-close encounter with tame giraffes make this a pleasant excursion to the south of central Nairobi.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely animals and a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely Worth a visit.
The animals are really beautiful and you can get real Close to them. The staff is also very friendly. We went there before lunch, and was some of few visitors at that time. So we got really good service.
You can feed the giraffes With Your mouth. A fun and wet experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    390
    163
    34
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“French kissing a long necked girl in a place called Karen, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an excellent part of the conservation effort for the Rothschild Giraffe. The centre has a number of breeding mothers and releases their offspring into the wild eventually. It also has entertaining warthogs. You can stand in a tall house and the giraffes come to see you if they'd like to. You get to feed them. I was encourage to hold some food pellets in my mouth so that the giraffe would come and take it from me. The staff are excellent, highly knowledgeable and informative. We got some great photos of a mother and two week old baby giraffe!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“The Manor spoiled me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If we weren't hanging out at the Giraffe Manor earlier, I would probably have thought that the Giraffe Center was the coolest thing ever. However, compared to the Manor, I found it very crowded and annoying. Perhaps it was just the tourists who were there jostling one another to feed the giraffes. There was definitely some good information about giraffes and I learned a bit but it's a bit too touristy for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL ROTHSCHILD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited the place a number of times coz l just cnt get enuf of it..........got to feed the girraffes n one of them licked my fingers it was scary at first but with more visits i got used to it......

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with a Giraffe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Giraffe Center is well worth a visit. While on Safari you can only watch these majestic creatures roam the plains, at the Center you get to stand below them and really feel their heights than climb up a petting stand to feed, photograph and well, maybe even get kissed by one! I did have a giraffe there try to eat my hair scrunch!! Watching children feed them is priceless and the setting is beautiful and peaceful. There are other smaller animals around and some nice gifts in the gift shop. We often take children from our Kenyan school there and students of all ages enjoy it. There is a small educational exhibit that is quiet good too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Centre to your Saves list