We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Manor spoiled me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Centre

Giraffe Centre
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A short self-guided forest hike followed by an up-close encounter with tame giraffes make this a pleasant excursion to the south of central Nairobi.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“The Manor spoiled me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If we weren't hanging out at the Giraffe Manor earlier, I would probably have thought that the Giraffe Center was the coolest thing ever. However, compared to the Manor, I found it very crowded and annoying. Perhaps it was just the tourists who were there jostling one another to feed the giraffes. There was definitely some good information about giraffes and I learned a bit but it's a bit too touristy for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    401
    164
    36
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL ROTHSCHILD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited the place a number of times coz l just cnt get enuf of it..........got to feed the girraffes n one of them licked my fingers it was scary at first but with more visits i got used to it......

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with a Giraffe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Giraffe Center is well worth a visit. While on Safari you can only watch these majestic creatures roam the plains, at the Center you get to stand below them and really feel their heights than climb up a petting stand to feed, photograph and well, maybe even get kissed by one! I did have a giraffe there try to eat my hair scrunch!! Watching children feed them is priceless and the setting is beautiful and peaceful. There are other smaller animals around and some nice gifts in the gift shop. We often take children from our Kenyan school there and students of all ages enjoy it. There is a small educational exhibit that is quiet good too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved the giraffes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited this center on our first day in Nairobi after long plane ride(s). Was a great introduction to Kenya. Yes - we did see more giraffes in the following days - but this was a peaceful, educational setting. Loved the gift shop too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place to get up close to the Giraffes.

We really enjoyed feeding them at head height with there large tongues, great photo opportunity.

A must if you get the chance to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Centre to your Saves list