We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best early in the morning...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Centre

Giraffe Centre
Langata Rd, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A short self-guided forest hike followed by an up-close encounter with tame giraffes make this a pleasant excursion to the south of central Nairobi.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably best early in the morning...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

... When we were there at around 1pm the place was packed with tourists and the giraffes weren't interested in being fed anymore.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    364
    151
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“feeling the soft nuzzle nose of a giraffe was fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

this is really fun to do as you can pet and feed the giraffes - especially fun for children. The entrance fee was very nominal - and gave one a good feeling that you are contributing towards something positive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love going to the Giraffe Centre. I live here yet and been a couple times but still enjoy going to see them. It is a place you will spend a maximum 20 mins there but you will have a blast. Another must do if you are in Nairobi

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love the animals but I felt this could have been more than it really was.
It's basically a giant viewing platform where the keepers coax a giraffe over so you can feed them. Great if the giraffes fancy a feed otherwise you stand looking at them looking at you from a distance. It does get busy as most people visit the Elephant orphange then go straight to the Giraffe Centre afterwards as they are in the same area & a short drive away.
If you are doing the National Park or any safari then I would give this place a miss.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you're going on safari, skip this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was duly impressed when I visited the giraffe center, but only because I hadn't been on safari yet. If this is the only chance you'll get to see giraffes, by all means go. Feed them. Make out with them (no really, people do it. You'll see ... ) They're beautiful creatures. I also enjoyed the fact that many plants and trees had informative labels spelling out their medicinal uses. There's a lovely hiking trail across the road, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.