We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going on safari, skip this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre

African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Duma Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
020-8070804
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$184*
and up
Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum and...
Ranked #3 of 38 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you're going on safari, skip this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was duly impressed when I visited the giraffe center, but only because I hadn't been on safari yet. If this is the only chance you'll get to see giraffes, by all means go. Feed them. Make out with them (no really, people do it. You'll see ... ) They're beautiful creatures. I also enjoyed the fact that many plants and trees had informative labels spelling out their medicinal uses. There's a lovely hiking trail across the road, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    485
    199
    40
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Twiga- Giraffes in Swahili”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Giraffe Center was difficult to find (for the cab driver who was quite possibly stoned) but worth the wait. You can hand (or mouth) feed giraffes and the volunteers are knowledgeable and friendly. There is also a nature walk that is easily self-led and beautiful. A little pricey but worth it if looking for things to do in Nairobi.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Feed a giraffe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We got to feed a giraffe here, but if you are going on safari, you will be seeing a lot of giraffes, so it might not be worth your time to visit the center....unless you really want to feed the giraffe, which is cool too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Their tongues really are blue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you want to see giraffes up close and personal you have to visit the giraffe centre. These lovely animals can be hand fed and some individuals seem to like having their ears tickled or necks scratched

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had barely got through the gate before we were given a handful of feed and coming face to face with a hungry giraffe, and it was amazing! The keepers are very friendly and there is an informative talk on the giraffes which was very interesting. We had a great time!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.