We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, posh location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Art cafe
Junction Mall | Junction Mall, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, posh location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good place to meet,
Mostly friendly service
Absolutely tasty pasteries and food but...quite expensive.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Inconsistent a consistency for them”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Art Cafe generally has good pastries, good food and even good cocktails. However if you order a cheese burger one day, there's no guarantee that if you order a cheese burger again on another day that it shall taste exactly the same as the previous one. I find this really annoying because sometimes you want exactly what you had the last time and what a disappointment when you order the same thing but its not exactly the same. This is the same for sandwiches and cocktails. I was told once by a waiter (about the difference in taste of my second cocktail), that the difference is because someone else made it. This makes you wonder if they don't have a standard recipe for their cocktails or if they don't plan their procurement well so that they run out of ingredients early in the night. Sometimes not being quite the same is the better option as there are times when you can get sick because something is off in the sandwiches - I have gotten sick from their chicken in calzone sandwich which I used to love but no longer do for fear of getting sick again. Other than their inconsistency problem, the cafe is a nice place to hang out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good food, service and value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Good food.
Wide menu.
Helpful staff and good service.
Reasonably priced.
Nice setting (at galleria).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Art Cafe Westgate :( was my favourite place in Nairobi, but now that it is not there any more :( I wish to say that all other Art Cafes are equally good. The food is always very good - they follow the same standards and I have never been unpleasantly surprised there. Their coffee is also very good; staff are pleasant and friendly. Art Cafe is by far the best value for money in Nairobi. Highly recommended to all long and short time stayers... I have been their regular guest - family visit, with friends even solo - and one does not feel awkward sitting there all by him/her self.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Art Cafe is the Place in West Gate Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Art Cafe IS the place to have a fantastic evening having delicious western food and enjoy the crowd too on the West Gate Mall.

Haunted by Europeans and Indians this is a great place to spend your evenings.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art cafe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Art cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.