We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, old style rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, old style rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The Windsor is a very nice hotel with a great golf course. Wifi was weak outside of the main lobby and the rooms had no fans or air conditioning. The gym was pretty good and I enjoyed the food. Tee times were easy to arrange and green fees were cheaper than almost any course in the states.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimanijm, E-Commerce Cordinator at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your warm comments on our hotel. The golf course is a unique part of the hotel and just to let you know, there is currently no other such hotel in Nairobi. You can now get a fan upon request for we have increased our units of portable fans. We are glad that you enjoyed using our golf course and hope to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
26
1
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I spent 5 nights at the windsor to attend a conference. The location is nice but rather remote. some like that, I don't. Personnel is rather friendly and attentive. Breakfast lacks variety. I'd like some more cheeeses n cold cuts, coffee in sometimes diluted. for lunch n dinner the chef is rather "generous" with oils n fats, not that healthy. Rooms do not have A/c which is necessary in summer! Illumination of rooms is rather "economical". The place is ideal for golf players but not for me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimanijm, Ecommerce Cordinator at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Serengeti55,

Thank you for taking time to comment on our services, Our Chef will definitely consider your comments and work toward achieving more variety for breakfast and all meals. As i write this mail, ALL rooms have in them fans to complement or architecture - this will help greatly in days of high temperatures. As for the lighting, we are looking into that .... Hope we can change your mind to come again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapellen belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We staid here for more then one week. Beautifull golf course, could play everyday without any queues. Nice surroundings. Fantastic food. Belgian chef de cuisine. The main restaurant serves a big choice of excellent menu's. The other restaurants, incl bbq etc also serve high quality food. Friendly service and big rooms!! A petty that the swimming pool was open for non hotel residents , the pool is every day very busy with lots of screaming children so we didn't spend our time at the pool.... We certainly are planning to go back there!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Windsor Golf is fairly out of the way and given that there isnt much to do in the immediate vicinity you should choose this location wisely AKA if you play golf! (or are hosting a large group event)

Service was great and staff were on top of things. Everyone was very polite and well spoken.

Food quality was ok but our exposure was limited to 1 dinner, breakfasts and one buffet lunch over 7 days. All were ok with the only questionable part being about the freshness of the cheeses in the breakfast buffet on certain days...

The room phones didnt have the numbers for room service in any obvious place (like the menus), which was odd.

The water problem that persisted throughout our stay, which meant muddy water for days, was not the nicest experience. Fortunately, the only meals we had regularly onsite were the breakfast buffets - didnt put too much thought into where the cooking water came from. Thankful for bottled water which was the only water available to drink during our stay, which you have to purchase even at the breakfast buffet.

We stayed in a cottage which has two rooms and a shared living room. Cottages are quite a ways out from the entrance and a fair walk at night on slippery floors, be careful! Skirting the golf course, a great morning walk to breakfast, is not an option at night. Room decor is a bit dull/drab and curtains especially can use an upgrade. Verandah doors refused to open with any given key so at times we left the front door open to air up the place when we were all up.

As we were there for a wedding we got a glimpse at the functions side as well which seemed quite well executed.

Was not able to sample the numerous walking/jogging tracks but heard these were very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed here twice for business conferences. The facilities for business are reasonably good. The hotel is in a beautiful setting - the contrasting colours of the bright blue sky, green golf course and red tiled roof are very photogenic.

The staff are usually very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge staff, however sometimes some individuals were not as pleasant and accommodating, and they are the individuals who you remember when thinking back about the hotel experience.

It is in a very relaxing, peaceful setting outside of Nairobi. Please note that this means that in traffic it can take a very very long time to get to the airport, so be prepared and allow extra time!

The rooms were fine, relatively large. However they were very dark - not enough light to put on makeup unless you stood right by the window, for example! The beds were OK, hard and starchy as opposed to lavish and inviting, but comfortable enough. I would recommend the cottages for colleagues sharing as you get two bedrooms with own bathrooms with an adjacent living area with sofa/etc.

Food on the whole was very good and the chefs very very friendly! There was a reasonably good spread offered at breakfast, with fresh fruit prepared. The cafe next to the pool is OK for snacks/pizzas/etc and they also have BBQs which were fantastic.

The outdoor pool is large, but quite tired.

Watch out for mosquitoes - myself and my colleague were bitten alive even though we coated ourselves in 50% deet each morning and evening!

All in all a good hotel in a lovely setting, but lacking in certain aspects expected of a five star property and could use freshening up!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I was very impressed with this hotel. A well run establishment with well trained, friendly and attentive staff. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and has good facilities including a fantastic golf course, heated swimming pool, gymnasium and free internet. Food was also good. All in all I cannot find much to fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGHCC, Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Thank you for your review turksmw.

We are constantly working hard to ensure that your future visits will always be better than previous ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I was promised a deluxe room available on arrival (after midnight. Meetings at 8 next morning). What I got was a room in the back of the newly built cottage - clearly meant as servants quarters, with no access to the house. Entrance was around the back. It was raining and the path was slippery and dangerous, and the shuttle driver dragged my bag through the mud. The room was exceptionally small and had no hot water, phone, hangers, TV and cable (in room but not plugged in or hooked up), functional electrical outlets, functional bedside lights, iron, and no outside lights to find the door to my 'room'. I wasn't able to wash my hair or take a proper shower for 3 days! Many items e.g. mirrors oddly placed - making them difficult to use. Be sure to check which room you are assigned to and that it is functional. The cottages are a 10 - 15 minute walk from the main hotel. If you want a shuttle, the drivers tell you to call the front desk. - however when your room lacks a phone and even a basic information guide this is not possible. Food, beverages and service were below average and overpriced. The management refused to negotiate a lower price (from the $185/night they were charging our group) to compensate for the lack of promised amenities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.