We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
colombo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“nice location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Windsor Golf is fairly out of the way and given that there isnt much to do in the immediate vicinity you should choose this location wisely AKA if you play golf! (or are hosting a large group event)

Service was great and staff were on top of things. Everyone was very polite and well spoken.

Food quality was ok but our exposure was limited to 1 dinner, breakfasts and one buffet lunch over 7 days. All were ok with the only questionable part being about the freshness of the cheeses in the breakfast buffet on certain days...

The room phones didnt have the numbers for room service in any obvious place (like the menus), which was odd.

The water problem that persisted throughout our stay, which meant muddy water for days, was not the nicest experience. Fortunately, the only meals we had regularly onsite were the breakfast buffets - didnt put too much thought into where the cooking water came from. Thankful for bottled water which was the only water available to drink during our stay, which you have to purchase even at the breakfast buffet.

We stayed in a cottage which has two rooms and a shared living room. Cottages are quite a ways out from the entrance and a fair walk at night on slippery floors, be careful! Skirting the golf course, a great morning walk to breakfast, is not an option at night. Room decor is a bit dull/drab and curtains especially can use an upgrade. Verandah doors refused to open with any given key so at times we left the front door open to air up the place when we were all up.

As we were there for a wedding we got a glimpse at the functions side as well which seemed quite well executed.

Was not able to sample the numerous walking/jogging tracks but heard these were very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
26
1
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed here twice for business conferences. The facilities for business are reasonably good. The hotel is in a beautiful setting - the contrasting colours of the bright blue sky, green golf course and red tiled roof are very photogenic.

The staff are usually very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge staff, however sometimes some individuals were not as pleasant and accommodating, and they are the individuals who you remember when thinking back about the hotel experience.

It is in a very relaxing, peaceful setting outside of Nairobi. Please note that this means that in traffic it can take a very very long time to get to the airport, so be prepared and allow extra time!

The rooms were fine, relatively large. However they were very dark - not enough light to put on makeup unless you stood right by the window, for example! The beds were OK, hard and starchy as opposed to lavish and inviting, but comfortable enough. I would recommend the cottages for colleagues sharing as you get two bedrooms with own bathrooms with an adjacent living area with sofa/etc.

Food on the whole was very good and the chefs very very friendly! There was a reasonably good spread offered at breakfast, with fresh fruit prepared. The cafe next to the pool is OK for snacks/pizzas/etc and they also have BBQs which were fantastic.

The outdoor pool is large, but quite tired.

Watch out for mosquitoes - myself and my colleague were bitten alive even though we coated ourselves in 50% deet each morning and evening!

All in all a good hotel in a lovely setting, but lacking in certain aspects expected of a five star property and could use freshening up!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I was very impressed with this hotel. A well run establishment with well trained, friendly and attentive staff. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and has good facilities including a fantastic golf course, heated swimming pool, gymnasium and free internet. Food was also good. All in all I cannot find much to fault this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGHCC, Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Thank you for your review turksmw.

We are constantly working hard to ensure that your future visits will always be better than previous ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I was promised a deluxe room available on arrival (after midnight. Meetings at 8 next morning). What I got was a room in the back of the newly built cottage - clearly meant as servants quarters, with no access to the house. Entrance was around the back. It was raining and the path was slippery and dangerous, and the shuttle driver dragged my bag through the mud. The room was exceptionally small and had no hot water, phone, hangers, TV and cable (in room but not plugged in or hooked up), functional electrical outlets, functional bedside lights, iron, and no outside lights to find the door to my 'room'. I wasn't able to wash my hair or take a proper shower for 3 days! Many items e.g. mirrors oddly placed - making them difficult to use. Be sure to check which room you are assigned to and that it is functional. The cottages are a 10 - 15 minute walk from the main hotel. If you want a shuttle, the drivers tell you to call the front desk. - however when your room lacks a phone and even a basic information guide this is not possible. Food, beverages and service were below average and overpriced. The management refused to negotiate a lower price (from the $185/night they were charging our group) to compensate for the lack of promised amenities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I did not stay at the Windsor but used the pool three times while in Nairobi. The pool is really nice. Service is excellent. Food served pool side is very good. Coffee is GOOD.

The hotel is very swanky.... nicely kept gardens, very nice lobby with great places to sit and take in the view.

Both the pool and lobby have wireless.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

My partner and I chose to stay at the Windsor for a three day weekend. What an unfortunate choice. While the grounds are lovely, the overall service levels are deplorable. Nothing went right. They forgot to pick us up from the airport, the reservation for a king sized bed was forgotten, we were placed on the main floor with loud residents and employees interupting us in the room due to no carpeting (tile really does project sound), the internet didn't work, the food was substandard, no hot water, and an early morning choice by the hotel to erect a series of large tents for an event two days out woke us on Sunday. Finally, after we complained, we were ultimately upgraded to a "better" room. Upon check out, we were expected to pay the entire cost of the more expensive room. This was a terrible experience. I would recommend looking at the Tribe Hotel, which many friends who live in Nairobi rave about. A new boutique hotel near the Village Market -- an upscale shopping area. I would certainly not select Windsor again. Terrible, terrible, terrible management. Nothing relaxing about this experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I absolutely loved this place. I was in Kenya with a cousin who was visiting her family there. My aunt and uncle (though marriage) are members of Windsor and I loved going there every couple of days to work out at the gym and be pampered in the spa. The salon and spa staff were excellent and I got the best full body massage of my life there!!! The food and other club member amenities were fantastic as well.

I'd definitely HIGHLY recommend this place.

Oh, and also recommend checking out the Windsor Hotel (can't remember the exact name) in Mombasa! It was very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.