We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
1 review
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Pathetic guest service from the reception down to the gal on the pro shop a lot of attitude to accompany her luck f hospitality even the pool attendant was by far better than her. Poor service at the pool restaurant n fine dinning. Not impressed at all. Couldn't wait to check out
What stood out of my 2nd experience here was the guy who assisted my luggage to my room, the room service was my best too both shifts. N the meals were v.delicious.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
24
1
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were very disappointed by the Hotel. Really not a 5 star standard. Maybe 3 stars. Our room was old (kind of grandma room), lacked maintenance and was not very clean (floor, toilets). The fine dining restaurant was a joke - the only fine dining feature was the price: terrible service (we have given up waiting for a wifi password, the drink menu and the mustard). The room service burger was good though.
The Golf course is incredible, perfect fairway and a lot of animals (monkeys, birds, etc) which make you think you are in a "golf safari" but this should be rated directly at the Golf. This is I think the confusion that most people made.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros
I must admit that having heard many people sing of Windsor, I couldn't wait to be here but I was disappointed. I feel this place is highly overrated thanks to the golf course and the fact that it is historical. If you want a place where you can walk, jog or have a peaceful quiet time, then go here. The breakfast is good, credit given.

Cons:
Despite being the only visitors at the reception, the check in process took forever. As much as we arrived at 6 PM we were told that our room was not ready and so had to be hurriedly prepared. Shock on us when I got to the room, not only are the rooms so old with unpolished floors, the showers are from another age. The room was literally what I call "grandma" . In addition, you will have to save some energy to look for the sockets to charge your electronics as they are hidden behind tables. The following day there was a lizard comfortably walking on our desk. I quite regretted why I suggested to my partner we finish our holiday here, I could not wait to check out!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor, you have a door to a private garden where you can sit and work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My stay here was for two weeks. Honestly I wish I hadn’t. After the first week I had an A4 page full of issues I had with the hotel, which I approached the management with. Issues included such as an unpalatable meal in their fine dine restaurant, a light hanging loose on the wall by the mirror in the room on-suite, noisy events going on till 1am, being told off by a caddy when I was out for a walk on their grounds, etc. etc. Following the talk with management the situation marginally improved.

They had the Great Lakes Conference on at the hotel during my stay, with all the African heads of State, the hotel made no contingency plans for their staying guests. I had to force my way past two African body guards manning the doors, as they were barring me from getting to my room at the end of the day. I then walked straight through the main hotel lobby reception that was full of heads of State and numerous body guards with not the most welcoming of expressions on their faces. But what choice did I have, sit outside the hotel and wait till it finished? I couldn’t even get to the bar without forcing my way in. I wouldn’t have liked to have been there with my kids.

I was in Nairobi for business and at the end of every day I had to come back to the hotel, at the end of the two weeks I couldn’t have left quick enough. If you want to play golf, you'll like the hotel, if you don't like golf stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: You'll be lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I was at this Hotel for 2 days for business and its lovely. The grounds are well kept, the service is awesome, the food is great too.
The rooms are nice and comfortable.
I loved the green all over- grass, trees

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My friend's mom was turning 82; so we organized a luncheon. The food was amaziinnggg! The place is beautiful and oh so huge! The staff is great. Service is perfect. I didn't get the chance to check out their rooms though. I bet they are spacious.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay at this property however I always pop tot he Windsor Club whenever I'm in Nairobi. It's a great course to play if golf isn't your thing then the running tracks tend to get used by people in my party (Not me). The pool area is Great this is the most relaxing place in Nairobi.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HotelsClick so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.