We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We resided at the hotel over a weekend and it was a welcome experience far from the hustle & bustle of City. The hotel has lovely gardens and well manicured lawns, the golf course is in pristine condition. Best of all the food is fantastic to say the least, well prepared and fresh. I recommend the breakfast any day.

The wifi in the room is good but the cottage can do with some improvement. The decor and fixtures are aging and need to be upgraded. There steel fans in the room make such a racket when switched on and interfere with your sleep especially if you have an infant and the TV has quite a procedure when switching on. Would have preferred a simple on/off switch.

Nevertheless I still recommend a stay in this hotel if not for the rooms but for the excellent menu and service.

Room Tip: The cottages have parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Hillary2012,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed you stay at the hotel. We have embarked on renovating the hotel which will give every guest a memorable experience.

Thank you and welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
24
1
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I went to the windsor with great expectation only to be disappointed
They did not provide a baby cot for my 7 month old baby neither did they provude a kettle to warm her milk, food etc
The fridge in the room was not working causing my baby's medicine to gi bad
Their rooms are so dirty they do not even vacuum the rags
Their staff are so slow and lazy some even rude..I guess they are demotivated
The food variety especially dessert is so limited
Ocassionaly there was no hot water in the bathroom..
But what irritated me the most is that they are not wheelchair/baby stroller friendly... no ramps whatsoever.
For the amount of money spent here, definitely feel conned
Worst hotel I've stayed in. Would never recomment it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The rooms need upgrading.
The North wing had no water and I had to be moved to another room. I waited for almost 20 minutes to have a loader carry my belongings to the reception. Shortly thereafter, I was informed that the room I was to move to had been taken. I had to wait for another room- it took another 15- 20 minutes.
I then called housekeeping to request for an iron. First attempt, assuming it was the iron- the housekeeper went to get another. Second, attempt, we realized the sockets were not working! She was so kind by offering to take my clothes for ironing.
Windsor management.....please re-vamp your services!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My fiance Bruno and I stayed here for a week over the Christmas holidays in 2013 and had an outstanding experience. The service was excellent especially from an older gentleman by the name Edward who was a fantastic and hospitable waiter. What really stole the show though was the magnificent view! The golf course is really well maintained and the expansive grounds are very welcoming to anyone who loves being outdoors.

My fiance is from Paris, France and I live in Manhattan, New York and we travel a lot all over the world both for pleasure and for business and we both think Windsor has a very welcoming aura and a charm that exceeds that of most several five star hotels we've stayed in over the years. Some people may have found the rooms a little outdated but they are in the process of renovating the place so in no time the place will be just PERFECT!!!

We loved it so much that we're planning on having our wedding here at the Windsor Club in December 2014 and we'll recommend that all our guests from abroad stay here. We are super excited and have heard really good things about the general manager Marc as some of our friends who live in Nairobi and their parents are members at this golf club. We will keep you posted on how our wedding goes because this may be a great spot for destination weddings! More to come!

V Kariuki & Bruno F

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was one of the best places I have been to. It was indeed a true country club experience. The huge golf course with an expansive natural forest where you can do treks and walks and runs in teh evenings or any time. this was amazing. we enjoyed these walks and left fit that we went.
The pool is small but heated making swimming easy on cold nairobi days. Its away from town but the hotel offers a shuttle to town if you reach a certain number. dont remember how many.
The workers were so hospitalble and honest. I left my 1200 USD on my bed in my wallet as i dressed (forgot) but I found this put in the safe for me with a note to get the pin number from the reception. The lady who did this was I think Margaret. What an experience.

Super good rooms. The food may not be the best.. Just like much of Kenyan food but can suffice.

There are many positives about the Windsor. TRULY A COUNTRY CLUB.

Room Tip: I think any room is good because they face the golf course. but closer to golf course is better. a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Located at a corner in Nairobi the place is extremely beautifil. It is green and the golf ground is something you can just sit and enjoy as long as you can. The food is excellent and very helpful. The conference rooms are also very nice, well aired. Great place to be in

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Was in Nairobi for business and just headed over for the weekend, great pool and pool side menu and very attentive staff. Not stayed there but very much enjoyed the day by the pool. Would recommend for a visit

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HotelsClick so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.