We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Windsor!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved Windsor!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I absolutely loved this place. I was in Kenya with a cousin who was visiting her family there. My aunt and uncle (though marriage) are members of Windsor and I loved going there every couple of days to work out at the gym and be pampered in the spa. The salon and spa staff were excellent and I got the best full body massage of my life there!!! The food and other club member amenities were fantastic as well.

I'd definitely HIGHLY recommend this place.

Oh, and also recommend checking out the Windsor Hotel (can't remember the exact name) in Mombasa! It was very nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    59
    33
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
28
3
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Rooms large and beatifully kept. Grounds fabulous. Facitilties more than adequate. Service absolutley first class with the staff very attentive and friendly. Our first few days in Kenya at the Windsor was brilliant. As for the golf course - best we have played in a long while. Cannot understand some of the bad reviews given on this site. They must have stayed at a diffrent Windsor than the one we did.

  • Liked — large clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Stayed here for business and the rooms are nasty. Dirty sheets, dirty curtains, old moldy bathroom, dirty raggedy towels. BLECH! Service was horrible (except in the restaurant) and the business services and lack of professionalism was disgusting. The hotels dark mahogany is gorgrous but in deep need of a good cleaning and an overhaul. The grounds of this hotel are GORGEOUS... golf course with sunshine as far as the eye can see and beautifully manicured lawns, and an EXCEPTIONAL restuarant, but that wasn't enough to make things better.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

I just spent 6 days in Kenya at the Windsor. Considering my alternative options, this was a great hotel. I was in Kenya for business meetings and not pleasure. The hotel feels older than it is. The rooms were tired but clean. If windows and doors were left open all kinds of bugs came in. Service was good, Water was not replaced in the rooms for free. Food at the main restaurant was very good. Food at the 24 hr pool side restaurant was pretty bad. The running trail with Monkeys was very cool - the golf course was a challange. Armed guards are stationed around the grounds.

  • Liked — safety
  • Disliked — safety
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

Lots of reservation problems, we were a big group, booked 5 months in advance, but still half of our guests had to stay waiting for hours before they could allocate rooms after a long drive from maasai mara. Terrible service. Looks good only from outside, but very poor management.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

This is a lovely stylish hotel, set away from the hussle and bussle of the city. The food was great, rooms nice.
Two things bothered me - I was rudely confronted in the lobby/restaurant area to identify myself, because they suspected I was gate-crushing a seminar that was taking place there. I was actually invited to it, but being African, they suspected I was there without invitation. Even after confirming I was there by invitation, they did not apologize for their mistake. Upon leaving, the front staff harrased my taxi driver, insisted the driver tip them before he was allowed to leave, they threated him never to return to the hotel. This left a bad test and is unlike the service I expect from exclusive places like this.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed at the Windsor on our first night in Kenya after being on safari for 10 days. It was quite a long taxi ride from the airport. There was a mix-up with our reservations, but they were quick to get a room ready for us while we ate dinner. The food was pretty good and the service was great.

The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was huge and the shower was great! There was even a hairdryer. The beds were comfortable and we had a nice view of the golf course when we woke up.

They have a nice business center where we could check our e-mail. When we discovered that our hotel in Mombassa fell through the concierge went above and beyond to help us get us a reservation at another hotel for that night. The service at the hotel was fantastic! We had a nice stay and if we are ever in Nairobi again we would stay here again.

  • Liked — great service, beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — far from the airport
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.