We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel on the outskirts of Nairobi; near US Embassy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dallas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good hotel on the outskirts of Nairobi; near US Embassy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've stayed here 40+ nights over four trips. The hotel is very pretty - looks like an old English hotel (Tudor) even though it was built not very long ago. It has hardwood floors throughout (a little creaky but that's part of the charm). The restaurants are good, with some very good dishes, and there are lots of places to sit and enjoy a drink or dinner and a good book. I'm partial to the "Library" but service can be slow as one waiter may have to cover four locations. Food is reasonably priced, as is most beverages (alcoholic and nonalcoholic). Breakfasts are full and generous.

The gym is dated but not bad. There's a great set of walking paths through the golf course, ranging from 3k to 7k. I'm a big fan.

The rooms are not airconditioned, but they do have fans. Although it can get a bit humid, the nights are generally cool enough that you won't miss the ac with the fan turned up.

Don't expect an active night life. Dead might describe a weekend night. That's not bad if you want to read a book.

You are out a ways from town. From the hotel to the center of town during traffic can be an hour. In non-peak traffic, it's about twenty minutes. To the US Embassy or the UN Compound is about ten minutes, or fifteen minutes in traffic.

I like this place. It's a bit remote, a bit quiet. The service is generally good albeit spotty, and senior staff is very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: I like rooms far from the front desk to make me walk. Some of the distant room numbers are 1100 ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Dallas Jack,

Thank you for being our loyal guest and we value your feedback about your experience in the hotel.
The recent road network developments have greatly increased accessibility to the hotel, and we expect new developments in the neighbor hood.

Just to mention, every Wednesday and Friday evenings we will be having a band that will entertain
our resident guests, from where one can enjoy kenyan music and dishes.

Our Front desk provides golf carts that are available to drive (you to or to pick guests from/to rooms far from the main building.

Karibu Tena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
19
26
1
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel is about a 30 minute drive from the airport with no traffic, a 1 hour drive with moderate traffic and a 2 hour drive with traffic. It is a compound with armed guards. There is a golf course, a colonial feel, walking, running and cycling tracks around the golf course, a gym, swimming pool, as well as relaxing areas for drinking or watching the golf course - all of which are well maintained and well serviced. It is also very pretty and breezy (in March). It has an old colonial feel about it, and is a little bit dilapidated, e.g. there was sometimes a little bit of gecko poop but this cannot be avoided – and somehow in keeping with the colonial style. Rooms are large and spacious with views over the gold course. The golf course is lovely, with one of the longest holes in eastern Africa. Samson, caddied for me, he was absolutely superb. He is a lovely, gracious and gentle man, and an excellent golfer. My game went to pieces and I asked him for advice and he noted that I was breaking my wrists – and suddenly my game returned - wonderful. The hotel is lovely, the staff are excellent. The only downside woudl be the lack of other things nearby, and a very western menu - it was difficult to have any E. African food.however, I would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Tompel,

We are grateful that you took time to review our hotel having sampled the facilities available at the hotel. Indeed we are very proud to have one of the best golf courses in East Africa and soon we'll have a new Golf House at the 11th tee.

At the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club, we endeavor that every guest enjoys the peaceful secure
environment away from the busy central business district.

Every Wednesday and Friday, we have prepared for our resident guests, great Kenyan bands
that will get you to sample Kenya music and enjoy that very famous "Kenyan Beer".

We look forward to hosting you in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I must say. Your service is great and world class.

The breakfast is great and though we had a late check out, the service was super awesome. I totally enjoyed every bit of my stay.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jemutai,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a "Super Awesome" experience. We do look forward to hosting you many more times.

Karibu Tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Large room with an older, colonial style feel. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Even if you don't golf, you can walk and ride a bike on the trails around the golf course where you can see floral and fauna (and monkeys too!) Off the beaten path and very relaxing experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Dusty,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel,
Windsor Golf hotel & country club is not only a golfers paradise but a home to all.
For sporting lovers we have tennis & squash courts and we also organise bird watching trips in our indigenous forest.
This is a home away from home where all are always welcome to come enjoy the green secure environment in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was at the Windsor again after 10 years in January, 2014. The surroundings are as sylvan, the walk, run or cycling possibility still as attractive, the staff are helpful even if somewhat doleful looking for some reason (!). Maintenance has been very good over the decade. The grand public spaces with their high ceilings and lovely flooring continue to impress. The addition of excellent wi-fi connectivity has added value. Some things have not changed. They still leave only a small bottle of water in your room and no kettle to get yourself a cup of tea or coffee. The ambience for a workshop is great but the pillars in the Country Room detract from the ability to really become a first rate conference facility. The food needs spicing up for the eastern palate!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a more expansive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sanan,
We are glad that you appreciate the look and feel of the our hotel. Among other 5 star services, we have made it a priority to ensure that our guests enjoy 10MB of broadband internet. This is to ensure your connectivity to family, friends and business associates.
Thank you for sparing time to make this review, we take all reviews positively.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Golf Country Club Hotel for 3 nights at the end of November 2013. We were there on a business trip from Brussels a group of 17 people.
We strongly recommend this hotel not only for business stay but also for holidays for couples as well as families with children. It's location and the variety of choices of the food and drinks was of a highest quality. Furthermore the friendliness, warm attitude and helpfulness of all the personnel were extremely professional. We also want to express our gratitude and appreciation for the generosity and the kindness of the General Manager Mr Marc Van der Borght and the Head of Concierge Mr Japheth Munywoki. They made our stay at the Windsor hotel so much special and memorable.
We would definitely choose again this hotel in our next visit to Nairobi. Hopefully soon!!!
Thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Karagiavouroglo,

Thank you for sparing time to make your review about our hotel.

Indeed it was a pleasure to ensure that you had a special stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. Indeed as you have mentioned, this hotel comfortably accommodates families, couples and the business travelers while for those going on safari, we are a perfect stop over in and out of the country.

We look forward to hosting you in you next visit. Karibu Tena na Tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Windsor is a great hotel in the leafy suburbs of Nairobi! Our family was in residence for the better part of two weeks Dec-21-Jan 3,2014, except when we stepped out for a few safari breaks. The Windsor's location is perfect for combined hotel and safari holidays. Amboseli, Nairobi National Park, The Mara and many other parks are quite close to Nairobi. So, the Windsor is a good solution for families or anyone looking for some 5 star comfort in Nairobi.

The Hotel staff we very nice and went out of their way to be helpful. The Doorman is very knowledgeable. There are numerous staff per client, so if you need housekeeping, doorman, room service or ice cream, it is never far away!

Food is very good, especially in main dining room, usually accompanied by live music. Sometimes, food delivery took awhile but this is a common issue in Kenya and hotels in general. It is always a challenge for hotel kitchens to handle peak volumes. Once you adjust your lead times, there is no problem. Besides, the weather and scenery mean there is no rush.

The swimming pool is very strong, one of the few heated pools in Nairobi. Quiet in morning, then fairly busy until 9pm! Many families eat around the pool.

Golf course is very good, it great shape, never a bad lie. Monkeys on a few holes but they are used to golfers and not a nuisance. Kites fly around the 9th and 18th holes, sometimes they land on your ball, hoping it is an egg, but then they fly off without moving it! As hotel guest, keen golfers can play early at 7-730am and meet family at pool by 11am. Perfect. Caddies are knowledgeable.

Rooms work well, maybe getting slightly dated, but not a issue. Beds and linen very good. Manager said a sensitive renovation program is underway where they do a wing at a time so minimal disruption. We were there for Christmas and New Year, appreciated the special events the hotel put on, maybe a little more noise than usual but nothing that kept anyone from sleeping after a day the the Kenyan sun.

I am a big fan and will be back!

Now, sadly, back in London now and wishing I was by the pool sipping on a steamed Kenyan tea!

Marc and team.

Keep up the good work at the Windsor!!!

Room Tip: Villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Alfred,

It is always a pleasure to host you in our hotel and thank you for the kind review. As you have mentioned, we will soon begin our renovations to ensure our guest will have a different experience every time they visit us.

Just to let you know, Windsor Golf hotel is the only hotel in Nairobi that offers the widest variety of out door facilities from an 18 hole golf course to 3 different jogging tracks, tennis & squash courts, mountain biking, petanque just to mention a few.
This is just the place to be

We look forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.